A artist in his community

in #art6 years ago

A true community

I had the pleasure of capturing a few photos of this artist-- documenting from the set in a designated safe zone. The artist in this photo did not want to be named or his face shown. He was very proud of his work and I definitely appreciated as well. The safe zone that I was commissioned to document was designed to be a free spirited place. In this community money is not dominating goal.

The residents of the safe zone use the barter system to economically progress in their community. The residents come and go and stay for different lengths of time. They trade their skills for room and board at the community. The residents are allowed to tend to the Oasis, help with cooking, cleaning and maintain the buildings. Some residents even teach meditation, yoga and woodwork classes. The community is quietly tucked away surrounded by the inner city. While this artist did not want to be named, he allowed me to film and photograph him. His art work was breathtaking and I had the pleasure of watching the mural through it’s creation.

Sort:  

This is a cool story and you are right this painting is amazing. Great pic!!!

That is a really beautiful mural @snookie. I never knew about a safe zone community with a bartering system. That is very interesting and helpful to many out there. Btw, I’m going to nominate you for @davemccoy’s find a newbie post. You are a newbie with less than a month on here. He is looking for someone just like you!

Thanks @beeyou for the nomination, that is so nice of you. I did not know about these communities before I filmed this documentary either. I would like to see how they would work on a larger scale.

Share it with us. Remember to take plenty of original pictures, share some stories, and make the post very long (but entertaining). They love to read novels on here. Stop by Dave’s post and learn about some of the contests we have with the newbiegames acct. It’s a good way to meet others.

Also, continue writing about your interests. Some short write ups are ok (just to establish yourself as an author to others), but be sure to let me know when you have a lengthy epic one. 😉

Yes. I want to write longer write ups as well. It is a skill I am trying to develop.

Congratulations you have been upvoted and resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday's top 10 posts for the day! ...

We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

hey @snookie, I wanted to tell you that you have a chance to play in these games and earn some money... Here is the link so you can see what I am talking about:

https://steemit.com/play4anewbie/@davemccoy/play-4-a-newbie-challenge-day-1-scoreboard-and-games-to-play

play4anewbie.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70810.22
ETH 3571.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73