Soft Pastel Art #2: OwlsomesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

There was an owl who lived in an oak. The more he heard, the less he spoke;
The less he spoke, the more he heard--- We all should be like that wise old bird.

-Anonymous-

cropped[1].jpg


Just recently, I posted my Soft Pastel Art #1: Steemcat in which I gave a tip for Layering Technique using soft pastels.

As usual, I will reveal another soft pastel art tip at the end of this article, I hope you’re with me til’ this post ends.


Steps

1[1].jpg

First, I worked with the base layer using white soft pastel on a brown envelope

2[1].jpg

I laid all the colors of Owlsome before smudging it, unlike what I did to my previous soft pastel art SteemCat wherein I smudged layer after layer

3[1].jpg

There! I smudged all the colors together using a cotton bud and worked on its eyes

4[1].jpg

5[1].jpg

I slowly added my secret recipe (white ink) for its tiny feathers.

6[1].jpg

There you go!


Owlsome’s quick Metamorphosis

gifanime_2017.10.30_17.45.55[1].gif


Owlsome’s Soft Pastel Tip:

"Smudging Technique"

Because of soft pastel’s chalky texture, it is quite easy to smudge or mix the colors. Just be careful with your strokes (single stroke, rounded stroke, freestyle stroke) in blending different hues. This may reflect the overall flow of your soft pastel art.

Furthermore, you need to be certain with regards to your hand’s pressure when smudging. Press harder when you’re working on the outline and softer in between the outlines to create faded effect.

gifanime_2017.10.30_11.33.56[1].gif

In Owlsome, I started single strokes at its outlines and ended with fine pressure in between the outlines.


Owlsome with a twist

cover-photo[1].jpg

I digitally edited Owlsome in order for it to lay above a soft pastel pencil. How? Well, you must wait until my next Soft Pastel Art Series on how I made this one. :D


Materials used

IMG_20171029_183717[1].jpg

Brown envelope, White Ink, White and Violet Soft Pastels, Soft Pastel Pencils


Do you think it’s Owlsome?
Let me know at the comment’s section. Owl wait ! :D

Sort:  

Very cutie

Oh, I love owls so much! This is a cutie!

Thankyouuu so much @kalemandra

So cute. Thanks for easy to follow steps. Good drawing. Well done

Thank you @mitchhunter. Glad you like it :)

Thankyou @zararina!! Kasing ganda ba natin kabayan? :D

Hehe sinabi mo eh. :P

Follow and upvote me i will do the same 😊

Awesome art and post! Very nice. 👍🏼😀

Thank you!!

Ka-artistic ba daay nimo @smaeunabs. Why nihunong ka?

Time consuming kaayo. Himo nya post napud hahahaha wala napud koy gana lately.

Ayyy kaya yan. anong gagawin para bumalik ang gana? drawing na yan

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56446.21
ETH 2966.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.17