Soft Pastel Art #1 : SteemCatsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago (edited)

No, it’s not a bat! Definitely not an Avatar! It’s a cat. A SteemCat!

PHOTOCOVER.JPG

Soft Pastel is a chalk-like art material which is often used for coloring and portait sketchings. Because of its distinct texture, it is best for arts which requires smudging technique (color blending).

This is the second time I am doing a soft pastel art. The first time is a portrait sketch which I shared in my Introduction Post last week.

received_1913268708690736.png

At the end of this post, I will reveal a great tip especially for beginners who want to explore soft pastel as an art medium.


Materials:

Brown Envelope, Soft Pastel, Soft Pastel Pencils, White Ink

IMG_20171025_190733.JPG


Steps:

I started with a white soft pastel as a base on the back part of a brown envelope. This is to create a neutral effect before adding up some other colors.

1.jpg

I put up a layer of light blue pastel and smudged it using a cotton bud

2.jpg

I put up another layer of blue pastel and smudged it

3.jpg

And another layer of darker blue pastel. Of course, I smudged it again in order to smoothen the colors

4.jpg

To create some contrast, I placed black, dark blue, and light blue tones

5.jpg

Now, this is the fun part. I’m already done accentuating the body of my SteemCat, so I’m moving on with its eyes, nose, and lips. Darn! It already looks like an Abatar (Half Avatar, Half Bat).

8.jpg

I continued with its nose and lips. Oh boy, it really looks like an Abatar this time!

9.jpg

There! I’ve added some white ink on its eyes to achieve watery-eye effect

10.jpg

This time, I brushed white ink for its hairlines. Holy! It looks like a cat already!

11.jpg

I then continued with its body. Olala! My SteemCat is almost done!

12.jpg

Tadaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa! Say Hello to my SteemCat!

13.jpg


Here’s a quick Metamorphosis of SteemCat

gifanime_2017.10.25_14.35.59.gif


Soft Pastel Art Tip Revelation

“Layering Technique”

gifanime_2017.10.25_15.55.22.gif

Haven’t you noticed? I started layering (putting of colors) from the lightest color (white) to the darkest ones (dark blue and black). This technique is so useful especially when doing a portrait sketch.

It is easier to darken a light surface than to lighten the dark one. It will only create a gloomy combination of colors if you happen to choose the latter.


I hope you learned a lesson from SteemCat today!

For more Art tips, stay tuned for my next Soft Pastel Art Series!


To more Artworks together!

Love,

gifanime_2017.10.25_16.04.30.gif

@smaeunabs

Sort:  

Wowowowowwww kintab ng mata. Ang galing!!!! :D upvote follow!!!

Salamat kabayan! Your artworks are amazing as well! Nakakabilib! :D

i love steemcat! well, i love all cats. lol. i noticed you on a samstone reply because of financial in your description and now because of art and kitties i have followed as well. feel free to follow back if you are so inclined. p.s. dont sell yourself short. you may be more than half amazing.

Thank you @xrelishx! You're definitely worth to follow as well :)

Maybe I going to change it from half to full amazing :) Thanks for the tip tho!

@cryptohustlin has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @smaeunabs to be original material and upvoted(2%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73