The Exhibition for the Folding Screens of Choson Kingdom, Korea

in #art5 years ago

There had been an exhibition for the folding screens made during Choson dynasty.
One of my friend introduced me the exhibition.
When I was a little boy, there were traditional folding screens in every house.
Whether the family had the common sense or not was decided, the family had a nice traditional folding screens or not.
My father and the uncles were proud of having the wonderful folding screens, though everything on the folding screens were forgotten due to the fast change of living style now days.

The life style I had live in my childhood must’ve been slow, but those slow way of living seemed to contain the core of happiness.

As looking around the exhibition, I was reminded of forgotten memory in my childhood.

There were too many folding screens, so it looked like to difficult to introduce all of them.
So I’d like to show my deer steemins some impressive ones among those folding screens.

Below was embroidered folding screen.
Its composition was so amazing as modern as that of now days.

_C221001.JPG

Below were the drawings by the brushes.

_C220894.JPG

_C220911.JPG

_C220933.JPG

_C220942.JPG

I'd like to introduce those folding screens more in detail in following post,

Sort:  

Folding screens have always been a part of my life, especially during my growing up years. My father bought several beautiful screens, one two-fold and the other a tri-fold,both decorated with flowers and trees, one being an enchanting embroidered cherry tree, flowering profusely. The other was what appeared to be dogwood trees.

The first screen you show is incredibly detailed, the embroidery work is so tedious with the screens. I look forward to hearing/seeing more about these traditional pieces, and why is it they have gone out of favor?

!tip

@slowwalker, I believe you had memorable childhood with got some traditional & cultural experience in Korea. You adults created Buddhism background I think. Your friend introduced brilliant folding screens exhibition. There were so many paintings and more meanings indeed there. The composition of those folding screens amazing and unique. Exactly brilliant description and awesome photo clicks here.

@slowwalker,
Folding screens are little bit new to my country! But in these days they are little bit popular in most of houses!
I have never seen these Korean traditional folding screens before! It's pretty new and pretty wonderful thing to having in house! Nice photography of your experience of these traditional items!

Cheers~

These type of screens have always enchanted me. It’s wonderful to see your photos from this exhibition. It must have been a magical experience.

Congratulations @slowwalker! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 63000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 64000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Nice blog and best photos @slowwalker

Posted using Partiko iOS

Beautiful those screens, I love how you remember your childhood as it is one of the most beautiful stages we live. Greetings.

We are always discouraged to look into our pasts and the past of man, but if we look closely and listen intently we can hear the secrets of how to live a quiet and satisfying life.

What an amazing exhibition and what wonderful screens.

Me encantaron las fotos de la pantalla debió ser una experiencia muy agradable

Many things have changed with the time, I believe every culture has been transformed and many good things are forgotten in Europe too. I like the screens, the paintings are beautiful, very elegant and fragile. As we can see even monotone look impressive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56095.11
ETH 2533.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23