🐳🐋Pearl the whale: A sculpture with process pictures by @skapaneas on my way to the #steemfest (original own work)

in #art8 years ago (edited)

Making of a sculpture:

Pearl The Whale.

This is something I was working on for the past week along other things, I had a lot of fun out of the process I learned a couple of things as well but overall it was something I will try again probably in the future.
So here she comes again, the Queen of all seven seas. Isn't she a beauty?

Stage 1:

Modeling foam, glued together or stack it with some toothpicks like I did.
Making my initial shape with a knife, I am keep working till I get a shape I can work with.

(ps: care your fingers...)

Stage 2

Applying clay over the modeling foam. The clay must be treated with water, work it out in your hands to soften it then apply it over your model, do not make it thinner than 1 mm as it will crack while it dries out.

Stage 3

Refining and creating details, use a sharp tool to sharpen the surface of your model. Use some water to clean up your tools every now and then, it helps the most when you are working with clay to have clean and wet tools to work out.


( My apologies for the appearance but we do not invest money on shirts in Greece. Hey we where walking around with peplus piece of sheets for years at least we wear trousers now :)

Stage 4

Curing process. Allow your clay model to complete dry out. It will take approximately 24 hours for this procedure to occur.

Stage 5

Painting your model. I used casual temperas colors, you can use acrylics or sprays. It all comes down to what you are aiming for as an end result so it is a matter of preference. Congrats your sculpture is ready it is time for some photo shooting.

I hope you like the end result.
I sure did. It now decorates a shelf on my bedroom I will call her the Ocean Pearl I was going for Marianda but she is simple not fat enough for that...
@ned @dan @smooth @berniesanders @blocktrades @itsascam @andeverywhale out thereI hope you get a giggle out of this. I have made this as mean to go to the Amsterdam steemfest and get some of my fellows with him. Please enjoy.

Thank you all for your support
I will include some high res photos for you to check out the final sculpture

Follow me
@skapaneas

Sort:  

Hi @skapaneas, just stopping back to let you know that you were one of my favourite reads yesterday. You can read my comments on your post here

thanks for that. I wasn't expecting it I got into the curie as well. :) the whale was a hit!

you documented it well.. keep up the good work

Had to come and check this post out after seeing in on steemit.chat for 2 reasons:

  1. I had a whale spotted post before :-)
  2. I saw another whale yesterday and will be posting about it sometime next week.
    You whale definitely more colourful than the one I saw.

    By the way, I wonder how much people is willing to pay for this if it is on the market. an idea?

I wouldn't sell this one so I can't really price it? I don't think you can hope to get more than $30 it is not the era of hand works, you can order anything out of a 3d printer, but I tend to prefer to create anything I want with my skills. It is that feeling of creativity that drives me it could be terrible but I would still be getting better in the process and that is what I am after usually, this is more of a hobby than anything. Thanks for your comment and that huge thumps up!

You're welcome. :-) It's always difficult to let go of the first one. yes, agree with the 3D printer thing you mentioned but that takes away the satisfaction and some tranquillity you get from crafting by hand.

Very nice job man! (;

thank you very much!!!

She is a stunner!

Isn't she lovely!! :)

Nice whale! What a lovely piece :)

thank you my friend!

Fantastic artwork as always. I know how difficult it is to make this so CONGRATS! Hope you go all the way to the top with her.

She is a free spirit she do as she wish. Thank you Marianda girl, my initial plan is to ride her to the steemitfest at Amsterdam next month... :)

Fantastic work, I hope it trends!!

thank you buddy! appreciated

cool sculpture

Thank you very much my friend.

Hi @skapaneas really nice sculpture, i hope the steemit whales can see your work. ;-)

Thank you for your comment friend. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58668.45
ETH 3162.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44