Thinking about Daphne

in #art5 years ago (edited)

 This morning, sketching in freedom using a simple ink pen, I sketched a woman with hair that become plants. When my hubby watched that sketch, he told me it reminds him the myth of Daphne and even if that myth was not in my mind while I was drawing that figure, I thought it could be a nice idea for one of my next painting!

Daphne (in italian is "Dafne") is a Naiad in the Greek mythology, a figure associated with the fresh water. I don't know if is the same where you live, but here in Italy we use to study the Greek mythology at the school since we are children and I remember it was one of my favorite subject to study because the beautiful stories full of mythological characters! 

Daphne was the beautiful daughter of the river God and the Apollo falled in love with her bacause a curse (and behind that curse there is another interesting story, believe me!). She doesn't love Apollo and so, before to be raped by him, she praied her father to help her. The father transformed Daphne in a kind of plant called Alloro  to save her. 

I started to work on a painting based on this sketch about the myth of Daphne soon, so stay tuned ^_^

See ya soon and happy Saturday,

Silvia


silvia beneforti


silvia beneforti

Sort:  

Hi, @silviabeneforti!

You just got a 0.08% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Yep, I know of this story and your drawing immediately made me think of Daphne! What a sad story, to be turned into a plant to avoid being raped by a deity, but in her honour, it is a beautiful plant, with wonderful perfume :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63852.87
ETH 3135.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83