The mad hatter - the story by L. Carroll, my sketch and Johnny Depp ^_^

in #art7 years ago

The (mad) Hatter is one of the main character of the Alice's adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll. We usually called it "Mad Hatter" (in Italian is "Cappellaio Matto"), but Carroll never use the word "mad" for his Hatter ^_^


When the Hatter meet Alice, he say to her that he and his neighbor March Hare are always having tea! This is because, when he tried try to sing the following song to the Queen of Hearts,

Twinkle, twinkle, little bat!
How I wonder what you're at!
Up above the world you fly,
Like a tea tray in the sky.
Twinkle, twinkle, little bat!
How I wonder what you're at! 

source

she sentenced his death warrant. However, he escapes the decapitation, but the Time was angry and he stopped himself at the 5 o'clock just for the Hatter and the March Hare!

After his explanation, Alice decide to partecipate at the tea party and what crazy surprise for her! The characters are switching  each others the places around the table and they're talking using nonsensical poems, impossible riddles, driving Alice away from that surrealistic scene!

The Hatter by Sir John Tenniel (source)

 

"Mad as a hatter" is an idiom used to suggest that a person is a bit insane. The origin of this phrase are not clear, but the most popular explanation is that it maybe derive from the mercury poisoning that the hatters used to develope making hats.

One of my favorite (Mad) Hatter's "version" is Johnny Depp in the Alice in Wonderland by Tim Burton!

Source

See ya soon and good night to everyone ^_^

Silvia

silvia beneforti

Sort:  

Hats off to you for this post! ;)

The drawing is super cute! "Alice" is one of my favorite books since childhood. And oh my God, I LOVE your pallette:) I'm kind of addicted to them, these witnesses of creation:)

Thanks!!!! I love this palette, I was lucky because I found it on a "second hand" market between some colors and canvas of an old man passed away. I payed only few euro for this beauty full on watercolors ^_^

I usually buy cloth on "second hand":) Cause when you're an artist you never can be sure you will not spoil your cloth, especially when it comes to oil or etching:)

I'm totally agree with you! ^_^ Sometimes I use the old large shirts of my hubby, but I'm always full of spots of colors and oil colors are very difficult to wash :D

So true:) A few days ago my dog steped on a fresh oil painting and all my kitchen was is small purple paw prints:)

I can understand you, I had the same problems with my dog and cat :D

steady, you are very creative.
the art of painting beautiful...
@silviabeneforti

Just follow the white rabbit :)

Following the white rabbit, we can discover a strange, but interesting world ;)

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Mar 23. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $9.19 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 23 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

You really upvote for this post!👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59538.61
ETH 2658.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45