Painting the snail

in #art7 years ago

In the morning I took some pics of snail in my backyard and so I decided to paint a snail portrait in my illustrative style ^_^

The snails intrigued me, because they ha theyr "home" (the shell) always with them. The snail (in Italian is chiocciola)  has a shell large enough for the animal and they love the fresh water, so it's simple to watch them during the rainy days.

It's an oil painting on paper and you can see some steps of the "work in progress" in the following pics:


I hope you love it ^_^

See ya soon

Silvia


silvia beneforti

Sort:  

Awesome, reminded of the racing snail from The Neverending Story :)

Yesssssss! The Neverending Story! I love the book written by Ende and the movie too! Fantastic!

I love snails. The eyes make it look cute :O)

I think snail is a nice subject to paint, I can "play" to represent this slow animal in more style ;)

I like it and paper is cheap compared to canvas. The snail is humanized but very nicely done

Thanks so much, @jeff-kubitz ! Yes, paper is cheapper than canvas (I use 200 gr paper) ^_^

Hey Silvia, how you're doing? Nice work :) Love oil paintings :) Wish you all the best!

Hola, @unusualconcept ! Thanks so much for your nice words! ^_^

:) it's "Olá" eheh Hola it's spanish :P

lol sorry! I was confused, I thought you're spanish, but you're portuguese, right?

could you please give me your opinion of this drawing i posted (still figuring out the best time to post) https://steemit.com/art/@unusualconcept/n-o15-sense-and-sensitivity (sorry if I'm bothering you)

don't worry, you don't bothering me :D

cool painted snail. I find oil to slow for me so I am not very good.
snails003.jpg
Acrylic is faster drying.

Yes, acrylic is faster to dry, but if you use oil colors on papers, mixed to more turpentine, it dry in just one or two days ;)

That's still to slow for me. I tend to muddy the colors > wanting to see the progress move along faster. Live art or digital is my favorite. Low cost on art supplies and instant gratification.
giphy.gif

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Apr 26. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.06 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 26 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52