Learning day by day thanks the great artists

in #art5 years ago (edited)

Premise:

Yesterday I read a series of  old posts here on steemit wrote by an user that I think is very ignorant in the art fields and he (or she) seems to want have a "career" here just accusing randomly other artists (real artists) to be plagiarists when they publish their exercises made by watching the works of great artists they love. So, I think I need to explain something that it's clear to every artist in the world:

when you study art, you NEED to excercise your hands learning the tecniques of the great artists making the SAME subjects the great artists painted! Art is not just a lot of words about theoryand/or history, Art is practice your hands and not just when you are a students, but always!

We HAVE to learn from Caravaggio, Michelangelo, Raffaello and also from others kinds of artists like comics artists, illustrators, etc. There is a big difference between someone who shows you the result of an excercise, where the most important thing is how the drawing/painting is similar to the original in the tecniques, in the shades of colors, etc and someone who say that he/she painted an original artwork all by his/her ideas and hands. In the first case is just someone who are exercise his/her hands showing you his/her skills on art, in the second case is just a plagiarist.

Well, another case: an artist needs to study a pose to paint his/her own artwork. A pose is a pose, you can study it from a photo, from a model you have in front of you, from another artwork or similar. You need to study how to represent that pose and so you draw it. When you're satisfied by the result you paint that pose in your artwork. A pose is a pose. A woman who sleeps, a man who are drinking a coffee, a dog who run away. If you use that kind of pose you studied from what you watched, are you a plagiarist even if the entire piece (in style, in medium, in scenes, etc) is yours? No.  Every artist know that a piece of art is made by a lot of different things, not just a tecnique or a subject, but the palette of colors you choose, the scenes that you represent, the ideas behind the aertworks, the materials or the surface, etc. To study the better way to represent a simple pose is just a little part of the work behind a piece. It's like for the music: the musical notes are the same for everyone, but to create a musical piece you need to hear and play a lot of known songs ;)

Plagiarism is an horrible act and I really hate plagiarists. When someone steal your own work (in art, in writing, in every fields) is really something horrible. It happened to me and it happened to a lot of artists around, this make me really angry, every time and I wrote a lot of times about it here and out of here.

At the same time, I'm hungry also when I understand that someone try to earn something accusing a student who is working to improve his/her skills exercising his/her hands learning the tecniques of great artists! Just to know, in the old post I read everything started by a good exercise, but it was clear it was not the same of the original. Maybe I watched the difference between the exercise and the original work just because I'm an artist and my eyes have the right skills to see those differences, but I was so sorry to read those bad words about another artist who just published a study he/she made! 

And yes, after the plagiarism, the second thing I really hate is the bullying, especially if that bullying is just for money!

After this long premise (long, but necessary), I want to contrast that kind of bullying publishing my own study for today:

Well, it's just a "study", not something I want to sell. It looks like also a good result, but if you see the original work (a page of a comic by Milo Manara!), you can see there are a lot of differences, so it's a good result, but not an excellent result, because when you study an artwork you have to try and try and try again to learn that kind of tecnique.

I can show you the original and my study all together because I'm drawing it just now, but I have a lot of old studies all around and for some of them I don't remember the authors of the original work. At the same time, sometimes I draw my studies from random pics that I find online. Sometimes students come to museum and try to repeat the tecniques of the paintings they see there. They are simply studying and all of us have to encourage students to study art practicing their skills!

To understand if someone is a plagiarist is really simple: plagiarists use to copy a pic from internet  (from other, real, artists and it's happened also to me!) saying it's their own work. Artists use to call "a study" an exercise they made to improve their skills. Simple.

After more than 2 years on Steemit I saw (and I flagged!) a lot of real plagiarists, but after I read a lot of old (about one month ago)  posts wrote by the same user I know there are also people who try to earn accusing artists (other artists, real persons and steemians with a good reputation) so, please, pay attention to users who are earning a lot  just accusing randomly (randomly, but just against people who is well known here, it's just a coincidence?) without real proof of what they're saying, but just their own opinion.

Just an example (just one of a lot of crazy posts tthat user wrote) that can help you to know how much this user is just a troll, look at here. I don't know the user he/she accuse to be a plagiarist, but that artist (I think she's a student) simply drew something from a photo online! She didn't copy an artwork, she painted the subject from a photo and she made a good exercise.  Sure, it's always good to write the name of the artist/photographer/etc that inspired your work, but plagiarism is something different!

Reading those post I see a lot of other (well known here) artists who replied to tat user in the same way I'm doing with this post, so, let me say: if a lot of artists  (well know here and with a good reputation!) here have the same doubts about the posts of that user who are accusing randomly, maybe there's something right in what I'm saying or all we artists are in wrong and just that user is in right? Just to know. Maybe he/she have to be a real life or he's a just a person who doesn't have enough skill to be considerer and artist and so he/she's envious? 

The sad thing is that thanks this shit he/she's earning a lot here, just because people seems to think he/she's is fighting against plagiarist but I don't see one single post where the real plagiarists are  mentioned! There's something wrong and I hope everyone here will pay attention to give an upvote to people like this!

I call this kind of shit just another bad way to earn something in a bullying way and now I wait that user try to accuse me too because I paint some of my artworks inpired by the works of Diane Arbus!



See ya soon

Silvia




silvia beneforti

Sort:  

You are so good drawing👏👏👏

Thanks so much, dear friend ^_^

You are welcome dear💕

You are such a passionate and wonderful person, Silvia :) I agree with you, that it is important to allow artists to study and learn from masters. As long as the students of arts attribute their sources well, I think copying is a legitimate mean of developing one's own skills.

It is, however, sad when there are people who outright deceives others to make a buck. But I guess, this is the world that we live in, and the only thing we can do is support each other as artists and always keep an open mind and heart... Everyone makes mistakes, and forgiveness is key to make the world a better place :)

Love your style so much, specially that boy with the grenade at hand, which I have said my comments on before :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3154.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86