All together everything looks better ^_^

in #art6 years ago

As artist and creative person, one of the questions people use to sk me is about my creative process. Well, it's really an hard question! The best reply I use to give is: "To explain how my creative process works is difficult, because often, during those moments, my mind is full of chaos!". Yes, I could reply "It's like a big chaos and you can't do anything to solve that cause. When "the right moment" arrive, it's like to see a light at the end of a tunnel!".

I also have a trouble, because in my work I use to alternate to work on artworks and on  decorations. Yes, artworks are a different thing from a decoration (in my own opinion) and even if sometimes there are decorations that are also pieces of art, not every decoration is "art". It's not simple, for me,  to explain this difference in English, because in my mother language (Italian) we use a lot of different words to explain it and I'm not sure I can literally translate them in English to give you the same meanings, but I try.

I want to start with a quote that the  Maestro of my hubby use to say: "When you see something and the first thing you think  is the it could be nice on the wall of your home, so that piece is a decoration. If watching something you feel an emotion inside yourself, so it's a piece of art!"

Sure, everyone of us has his/her own emotions, feelings and thoughts in front of a piece and s probably what is art for me, it's a simple decoration for you and viceversa.

About my own works it's more simple, because, for example, I think about my series of tiny freak houses ("Monolocali biculi") like pieces of art:

At the same way, the following is a "decoration". 

Just to know, "decoration" has not less value than a "piece of art", but simple a different "meaning". The first one has to be nice for the buyers and, possibly, well done. The second one has to say something to the people who watch them. Maybe it's something in a abstract style, surrealisic style, primitive etc, maybe a realistic portrait or a representation of something else from the point of view of the artist, but it's a way the artist use to say something, to give something to you and your soul.

For me, my own creative process for a decorative thing is more relaxing than the process for a piece of art. Sometimes it happens that working on a specific piece I feel myself so focused on my emotion doing it that after I need to clean my mind for a couple of days.

This is because I love alternate decorative and art piece, so I can pause one working on the other one ^_^

I hope my explanation was clear in English ^_^

See ya soon

Silvia



silvia beneforti
Sort:  

I have never thought about this difference. But you are right! Decoration isn't art. Art is something what gives you special emotions. I like your explanation. I'm thinking if we have something like that in Slovak but I'm not that sure...

I love your tiny freak houses but your illustrations are cute too :) It's just that difference in feelings that you're getting out of them. I'm happy to see artists sharing posts like you do as it helps us non artists to understand your world :)

Have a great weekend and thank you for sharing!


Questo post è stato selezionato dal team di curatori di discovery-it.

Grazieee!!! ^_^

I think I understand what you mean, Silvia .... Art and decoration, and yet both are valuable and I love both of your artworks and your decorative pieces :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hi, @silviabeneforti!

You just got a 0.11% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi dear Silvia! I know that the eyes of artist is different, it see the things differently not like the normal one, it’s like a message have to send it to the viewers.

OH I LOVE THESE !!!
makes me want to try it out...
i would probably make them out of clay though.. probably a bit less messy.. i wonder.. :-)

Hello @silviabeneforti, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63064.93
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55