Superhero Drawing Challenge - Mr & Ms Steemit (Pencil Sketch to Digital Art)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hello my Steemit friends!

After finishing my previous drawing of "Magic: The Gathering" I had this idea of creating a Steemit superhero comic character, the problem was that I'm only used to draw from references and I felt enable to translate what I was imagining into a white paper, I tried many times but it just looked off and weird.

So I decided to start learning what's needed to bring my idea to life! I finished 7 books and watched several videos in the last 8 days learning from scratch how to draw human figures, starting from proportions to anatomy then comic character designs. 

After I achieved this ability to draw the human figures from my imagination (For some reason I was able to draw some hot female bodies lol) I really felt this rush and excitement to draw again, it felt liberating to see my imagination materialize in front of me.

While one of my steemit breaks I noticed that @htliao is hosting a new drawing challenge and surprisingly the theme is "Design your own Steemit manga hero" which fits exactly what I was working on and made things more exciting! 

- Edit: Unfortunately I missed the contest! -

I finished drawing and designing my characters using graphite pencils, and that's my first superhero comic character    design! But I felt there's still something missing, and that's the colors, unfortunately, I don't have these high-quality color pencils like Prismacolor or Faber-Castell that I know they can bring life to my black and white drawing. 

That didn't stop me and I had to figure out another way to color it. 

While I was thinking, starring at my laptop home-screen, Photoshop came to my mind! I know I have some basic skills on Photoshop so why not color it there! 

I scanned my drawing and managed to clean it with the help of YouTube videos and started to color my Steemit superheroes! and that's my first Digital Art!

So during this challenge I made three personal achievements:

  • I learned how to draw Human figures the right way.
  • I created my first comic character design.
  • I made my first Digital Art!

Looking back at my first try and this one, I'm really happy and satisfied with the final result! But I also know that I can do better and I will continue learning to improve my art skills.

Now here's My Steemit Superheroes: Mr & Ms Steemit.

Mr & Ms Steemit, an amazing couple that have the ability to teleport into the wonderful digital world "Steemit".

They help and empower other Steemit citizens, with a powerful energy called "Upvote", which brings joy, happiness and wealth to Steemit world citizens.

They also keep order and protect the world of Steemit from the bad and evil humans, using their special power called "Downvote".


Now here's a step by step progress of the drawing:

Medium used: 

  •  Mechanical Graphite Pencils 2B.
  •  Kneaded Eraser, Plastic Eraser 

Step 1 - First I started with drawing the basic stick figures, in order to get the correct proportions and body action.


Step 2 - The Next step is transforming the stick figures into mannequins, and placing muscles, fat and skin  (Anatomy) to get theses human looking bodies!



Step 3 - Now I start designing the characters costumes and faces look, for both the male and female, since they are a couple with same powers and objectives, I tried to create a similar costume design.


Step 4- It's time they put some clothes on! After finishing the designs, I draw them on the previous figures, depending on the  perspective. 


Here's a Gif for these steps:



Step 5 - Now that I'v finished drawing all the outlines of my characters, I scanned it to turn it into a digital picture that I can color using Photoshop (If you zoom in you'll notice the lines are not that perfect, using ink instead of graphite is the trick to get perfect lines).




Step 6 - I've chosen the steemit logo colors for the costumes, I can't share all the screenshots and steps on how I colored them, but here's two screenshots of the completed coloring for both the male and female.


Step 7 - Here, I add some shadows to give the figures some dimension. And finally, I added a steemit logo background with some blur effect to keep the focus on Mr & Ms Steemit, and I also added some drop shadows for the bodies indicting light coming from the top!



Step 8 - I enlarged the characters in order to reduce the empty space around them. and voila!


Here's a Gif for these steps:


So I hope you'll like it, and I'd like to thank you, Steemit World for your support, because of you I'm enjoying drawing again!

Never ever give up on something you love to do, try to learn, study and for sure you'll notice your skills improve but never stop learning ;) 

Peace!


   

Sort:  

For a 1st try it is really good! 😍 You can be proud of it.

Thanks a lot @explorer18! I really appreciate it ;)

Very nice story, good name for the hero and Excellent pictures.. Very creative.. I am wait for manga.. Hahhah.. Hope so

Lol! That won't be an easy task :D thank you very much for your support ;)

So cool characters! :)
That was creative.

Thanks a lot @zararina, happy you like it ;)

Thanks ;) well done my friend! Your steemit girl looks amazing :D

Me encanta tu ilustración, te felicito por que te sale muy bien el dibujo de la anatomía humana, muy difícil de lograr. Intentare bocetear un poco. llevo años sin saber que es dibujar a mano alzada.

Muchas gracias @luzfermin Sé lo difícil que puede ser dibujar figuras humanas, y la mejor manera de hacerlo, es aprenderlo desde cero, y la forma correcta es aprender el por qué antes del cómo;) Hágamelo saber si estás interesado en leer libros en PDF que te ayudarán a comenzar tu viaje de aprendizaje, también puedo compartir algunos cursos de video gratuitos que encontré ;)

Soy licenciada en Artes, pase por tres clases de dibujo, aprendí mucho pero sin practica la destrezas de las manos se va perdiendo. y ahora como mi trabajo es solo computadoras, se perdió el tiempo de bocetos.

Ah eso es genial! tienes suerte :D, por desgracia para mí, no tenía los medios ni la capacidad para estudiar artes, así que tuve que aprender todo lo que sé ahora, desde Internet. Y tiene razón, practicar y dibujar tan a menudo como sea posible mejorar las habilidades ;)

Que programas utilizas para digitalizar?

Utilicé mi escáner Canon, luego lo limpié usando Levels en Photoshop.

a ok. photoshop buen programa. que le vaya bien @silentsoularts
espero su apoyo.

Gracias @luzfermin, buena suerte con tu viaje de Steemit, revisé tus obras de arte y es increíble ;)

Nice work @silentsoularts I gave you a follow and an upvote and gonna resteam to get help with exposure.

Thank you very much @linkdead13 I really appreciate your support!

Very creative and beautiful artwork they are the Superheroes of the Future...I hope soon to follow is their love story. Lol!

Thanks a lot @joshvel, lol their love story will be interesting!

@cryptohustlin has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80