State of the Art [What I'm up to]

in #art6 years ago (edited)

stateoftheart_shortcut_Fotor.jpg
Based on a CC0 photo from Pixabay

Dear readers,

I have so many tabs open right now, I just hardly can keep up with all the stuff, I wanted to show you. So I write this post as a way of emptying the stack and let you all know, what I've been up to.

Dada Diptych

As it's friday night, I want to start with this colorful diptych, I did at the art collaboration website dada.nyc. If you follow my blog, you know, that I'm a huge fan of the website and it's limited drawing tools.

Here is the whole piece called "at the nightclub" and I can hardly believe, that it's already three weeks old.

dada_dance3_Fotor.png

Here are the pieces one by one:

dada_dance_Fotor.jpg

dada_dance2_Fotor.jpg

Danceweekend

I was thinking about, what kind of music would be played in this club scene. Maybe something like this:


Tom Waits-Down,Down,Down

Or this:


US3 - Cantaloop (Flip Fantasia)

I've you like this kind of music, here is a Acid Jazz Funk playlist for your listening pleasure.

More Dada

As I'm not planning to do a dada post every day, I just want to show you another dada-drawings in this post. It is taken from a visual conversation started by @juliakponsford

dada4_Fotor.jpg

You can find the whole conversation here.

Poetry - Go all the Way

Besides visual communication, there is also some verbal communication in the comments section of dada. That's where I found this very beautiful and inspirational poem by Charles Bukowski, which is called "Roll the Dice":


Roll the Dice by Charles Bukowski (read by Tom O'Bedlam)

you will be alone with the gods
and the nights will flame with
fire.

I remember, that I've read a lot of books of Bukowski in my youth and I really have to refresh my memories. Here is a playlist full of his poetry.

Creative Commons

I know, that I promised to write several posts like an #artistbehindthearttreat post, I was invited to write by @reinhard-schmid and about the wonderful Madsted knife, that I bought from @evilhippie month's ago.

It's just, that my little @creative-commons project and my daily life are keeping me from being as productive, as I want to be. After I stopped my #creative-commons bot, I noticed so many cheaters and tag-abusers, that it really keeps me busy to explain them the concept of Creative Commons and I never flagged so many ignorant people before, that do not even reply to my friendly request to use the #creativecommons and #creative-commons tags only, if their posts contain CC-licensed content or talks about CC in general.

flags30.jpg

As you can see, I have given 38 flags in the past 30 days and it makes me sad, that I loose a lot of voting power and time to these people, who seem only to be here to trick the system. Although I started to inform @steemcleaners, it's just a lot of time, that goes into the project and not into reading and commenting posts of my friends and followers.

If you want to support my @creative-commons work by lending me some Steempower or following the account and upvoting good CC-content, that I usually resteem, I'd be more than happy. You can also get in contact with me on discord/shortcut#3041, if you want to talk about any kind of cooperation.

Meetup in Aachen

Finally, I decided to attend the Steemit Meetup in Aachen next friday and I'm even more excited to go there with @vcelier, who will pay me a visit. If you happen to be there at 20th of April, I'm looking forward to meeting you. If not, there will hopefully more chances to meet in the summer.

Ok that post grew larger than expected, hopefully you enjoyed reading it!

Thanks for your attention!

@shortcut - art, music, poetry & cc



sigil.jpg
creativity is based on freedom

follow_shortcut.gif

Sort:  

Oh you are coming to Aachen ?
Super happy to meet you again dear @shortcut!
and for sure happy to meet @vcelier there as well, we are both writing for adsactly now and then :)
See you next week!
Kind regards
Jan

Yess, I'm looking forward to meeting you, too! I didn't know, that you're also writing for adsactly, maybe you two can tell us a bit more about this group at the meetup. Would be quite interesting.
See you soon :-)

I will be happy to meet you and other Steemians in Aix-la-Chapelle. 😜

Nice, what you've been up to, man @shortcut. Nice art, and it seems to me like a native American club where they've got their native attires on. 😀. Or some other people like that, maybe a native African tribe.

Thanks man, I can see what you mean. The guy to the right really looks like a native African. I also had a bit of Josephine Baker performing her infamous Banana Dance in mind, when I drew it. But I guess, a wild night club in New York is not very different from that ;-)

Tom Waits also does an interesting waltzing Matilda. The art makes hints to an updated Egyptian or Inca culture. I like it though a lot. Thanks @shortcut.

You're right! I notice this kind of Inca-style coming out of me every once in a while. I don't know some good Inca music, though (and "Walk like an Egyptian" isn't really an option).
As I'm a huge fan of Tom Waits and there are some Jazz instuments in the setting, I thought it might fit as well ;-) Thanks for your appreciation!

Schön wieder von dir zu lesen, danke auch fürs den #DanceWeekend tag - Thema Nightlife / Night Club passt ja ganz gut - Tom Waits ebenso zu der erstellten Szenerie, obwohl sehr farbig :-)

Grüß mr die Kollegen beim MeetUp in Aachen, viel Spass.

Hi Uwe, danke für deinen Kommentar :-) #danceweekend ist einer der Tags, die irgendwie in meinem Kopf steckengeblieben sind und wenn es eine Gelegenheit gibt, etwas dazu beizutragen, bin ich immer gerne dabei. Aachen wird sicher cool, @detlev macht einen guten Job ;-)

you are onto something really great helping other's along the way :)

Thanks for your encouragement :-)

Yeah, sehr cool, vielleicht pass ich dann auch noch bei euch beiden ins Auto??? Werde nämlich auch nach Aachen fahren und bin dann bei jkiw :)

Klar, kriegen wir bestimmt irgendwie hin. Lass uns mal die Tage chatten ;-)

I saw the sadness and the happiness side by side, on the "at the nightclub", I enjoy the music. thank you

Yes, it‘s a mirror of our life ;-) Thanks for your feedback!

you are welcome @shortcut, I love art as much as I love wild adventure, but I haven't written about my work. I think I should give a try.

Hopefully you won't only write about your art, but also show it ;-) Looking forward to it.

Sir @shortcut, please forgive me for the last time. I will never copy anyone's post! please. i need your support not flag 😭😭 please forgive me for the last time. I will never copy anyone's post!

I’m sorry, but I can‘t remove the flag from a plagiarized article. You will have to proove, that you can do better in the future.

Excellent and very colourful art work... really very nice .... and I like the Cantaloop(Flip Fantasia)....and nice poetry.... thank you so much for sharing..

You're welcome ;-)

Amazing photography!

Thanks for reminding me to add the source. The one and only photo in the post is a CC0 image from pixabay. But there is a lot more interesting stuff inside. Maybe you should give it a second look.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64210.52
ETH 2627.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76