The birth of a blade 6. The Madsted knife.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #craft7 years ago

This is a post I have wanted to make for a very long time. It is about a project that I made together with @katharsisdrill.
My first love is swords, but many other blades and tools have seen the light in my workshop too. One of my absolute favourites is the Madsted knife.

A while back I was talking knives with @katharsisdrill, particularly the beautiful designs of the danish iron age knives, called womens knives. We talked about making a kitchen knife of some sort and it wasnt long before @katharsisdrill found pencil and paper.

He quickly started drawing and a while later he came up with a design that I really liked. He asked if I would try making it in steel, and I agreed.


I made a prototype and we talked a little back and forth about improvements and changes, and when we were both satisfied I forged up a zero-series
there is still minor improvements to be had in the way I shape the handle but all in all it is pretty close to finished.

You can follow the process here and it all looks very neat but it was really a lot of trial and error along the way.
I wanted to be able to make them efficiently enough for me to be able to sell them at an affordable prize so I had to really optimize the process as much as possible

It is quite interesting how much time you can cut of when you make something for the second or subsequent times.
for every new knife I learned more about how to shape the metal and how to get as close as possible to the shape I wanted, with only the hammer. They say that for every hour at the anvil, you save a day at the grinder, and there is truth in that, even if it may not be that much time you can save.
I have managed to get the working time down to app. 3 hours, making more than one at a time also helps.

I have taken one for myself and @katharsisdrill have gotten the prototype as well as one of the 0-series. I have sold 3 but I still have one left, which I might put up for sale here on steemit if anyone is interested.


Im EvilHippie, a compulsive creative and jack o' trades. if you want to know more about me, check out my introduction post here

If you like what you see, feel free to upvote, follow and resteem

Sort:  

Outstanding work! It's a piece of art. I've just read about it at @katharsisdrill's post and I really love those kind of "collaborations".

The fact, that it's designed by @katharsisdrill and another Steemian, the whole background story, the logo design and your work, which you perfectly describe in this making-of post, gives me no choice than asking for the remaining knife.

Hopefully it is still possible to get it?

Yes you are most welcome to buy it. I was thinking if selling it for steem since i really like the idea of using cryptos as currency. I will have to calculate a price and if you are then still interested you can mail me your address and i will ship it to you

Thanks a lot! Sounds perfect to me :-) I already bought several things using crypto and love the idea to buy the knife with Steem. I'm really looking forward to your offer. Have a fantastic day!

Hi again I have calculated the prize to 56 steem including shipping(if I am right and you live in Germany that is) You can contact me via my company mail [email protected]

Sounds great! And you're right with the shipping to Germany. I'm getting two larger payouts today and tomorrow and would like to cover the costs with those. If it would be possible to reservate the knife until tomorrow, that would be awesome. (Otherwise I would have to convert some other cryptos first.) I know, that we would need to recalculate the price then. Will also get in contact to you by mail, so that you get my shipping address.

no worries, it is reserved for you. if someone else want one they will have to wait until I get around to making another batch

Thanks a lot! I will get back to you at least after the second payout tomorrow. Have a great day!

Wow @evilhippie
Really handy stuffs you're doing there, and these knives in the last picture are a real beauty, wow, really. Good work.
#thumbs

Thanks, much appreciated

Nice project - nice to see knife-junkies here on Steemit :) Keep up the good work.

Good work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68845.40
ETH 3281.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65