My #Penciltember Sketches (9-14)

in #art7 years ago

Dear cyberfriends,

my latest #penciltember drawings are based on the biro work above, which I made many years ago. I know, that a lot of people would just call it a meaningless doodle, but for me it's the visualisation of energy.

I'd say that it also has some references to the works of Impressionism and I wanted to dig deeper in this idea with my #penciltember sketches.


Game of Life

Somehow the drawings particularly remind me of Conway's Game of Life.

The Game of Life is controlled by four simple rules which are applied to each grid cell in the simulation domain:
  • A live cell dies if it has fewer than two live neighbors.
  • A live cell with two or three live neighbors lives on to the next generation.
  • A live cell with more than three live neighbors dies.
  • A dead cell will be brought back to live if it has exactly three live neighbors.
Source

This is how a typical evolution looks like:

Source

The gif is taken from this amazing tumblr blog, that deals with game of life algorithms.

Check it out!

You can check out this page for a javascript Game of Life emulation in your browser.
Try clicking on the "randomize"-button!

Thanks for watching!

@shortcut


Here are the links to my #penciltember sketches 1-4 and 5-8.
Sort:  

Das ist richtig inspirierend. Hab die letzte Zeit recht viele Portraits gemacht, in der Hoffnung etwas Unterstützung zu erhalten, um mir Steemfest leisten zu können und evtl etwas für einen Live-Akt-Modell Zeichenkurs, aber ich muss sagen, dass mir naturalisitisches Zeichnen "nur im Moment" etwas auf den Wecker geht. Ich will genau solche freieren Quellen anzapfen. Gefällt mir gut, was du da machst - auch die eine Künstlerin, die du hinsichtlich der Ausstellung gepostet hast, schwebt mir noch im Kopf. Ich komm immer mehr zu der Erkenntnis, dass es ruhig mal abstrakt und sogar auch etwas naiv sein darf. In diesem Sinne: DANKE für die neuen Perspektiven immer wieder :-)

Bitte sehr! Ein schöneres Feedback, als dass ich andere durch meine Posts inspiriere, kann ich mir gar nicht vorstellen. Vielen Dank für die Rückmeldung!

Hey, excellent drawings - good you mention they're all about energy, otherwise I would've been a bit stunned. It's an interesting topic - energy - consciousness - a game of life (which I didn't know about). I'm always fascinated by putting systems into art. Bythe way, how big (or small) are these drawings?

And kudos, more than halfway into penciltember!

Hey, thanks a lot for your feedback. Life is about energy, and so is art, isn't it?

After I first started doing drawings, that doesn't have much relation to eachother, #penciltember offered me the possibility to think about an evolution and development between my recent drawings. I was going to follow a certain idea and develop it. That was really cool, because I don't do that very often.

I did all those drawings in my moleskine sketchbook, so they are about DIN A5.

That's cool, it's great you're enjoying the concept to work things out further. Because one idea (or sketch) brings out another, and another, which is also energy, it never stops :)

After writing ^^ I checked that javascript Game of Life-link and now it even makes more sense, fascinating, thanks!

I really like steemit for this kind of interaction. Real people actually reading my posts and thinking about it. That's a rare good these days. Thanks!

Thank you! If it works well, this can indeed be a great platform :)

AAAHAAA das sieht ei mir so aus wenn ich mich rasiert habe und dann alles nachwächst.... ich weiss jetzt nicht ob das dein Ziel war ;) Welche Bedeutung haben die Bilder denn?

Haha, auch 'ne interessante Interpretation ;-) Für mich sind das eher so Energien oder Bakterien-Kulturen. Auf jeden Fall hat die Serie mit Evolution und Entwicklung zu tun. Aus dem Chaos entsteht die Ordnung oder so. Vielleicht entsteht aus dem Chaos auch erstmal noch mehr Chaos. Also relativ abstrakte Fragen, mit denen ich mich manchmal befasse...

Sehr cool, aber dann lag ich ja quasi gar nicht so daneben.
Wir sind übrigens in 2 Wochen in Deutschland, landen am 1.10 in Bonn aber können leider nicht bleiben weil wir nix zum übernachten finden bisher.

Aber wir werden garantiert mal vorbei kommen und Freunde besuchen.

Das wäre doch toll, wenn wir ein kleines Mini-Steemit Meeting veranstalten könnten. Leider haben wir kein brauchbares Gästezimmer. Habt ihr es mal über couchsurfing.com versucht?

The points you have made here about Conway's Game of Life are quite interesting. Your sketches are very close to these principles.

Cool! I appreciate, when people actually read my posts. I'm carrying this "Game of Life" idea around since many, many years. So, sometimes I just have to reflect on this in my art, too.

Beim ersten Bild sehe ich links unten in der Ecke ein Gesicht. mit geschlossenen Augen. Hast du es absichtlich gezeichnet oder ist es in meinen äugen ein Irrtum? Upvoted :-)

Ich habe als Jugendlicher öfters das weiße Rauschen auf dem Fernseher beobachtet, das man sieht, wenn kein Kanal eingeschaltet ist. Irgendwann fingen dort vor meinem inneren Auge Figuren an zu tanzen und anderes abgefahrenes Zeug. Ich denke, mit der Zeichnung ist es dasselbe. Ich habe da kein Gesicht hereingezeichnet, aber wenn du eins siehst, ist das toll :-) Danke für deinen Vote und deinen Kommentar!

Beautifull Art..!

my friend plz follow and upvote

Please don't ask for it! It's considered spamming and some even flag this kind of comments.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65775.16
ETH 2664.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87