Lisbon Street-Art Revisited

in #art6 years ago

IMG_0461_Fotor.jpg

Dear friends,

I've done it again. I revisited Lisbon, but this time with my little family. After I had fallen in love with this city during Steemfest², I wanted to show them, why this place is magic.

Although I'm sure, you already saw tons of Lisbon pictures, I hope that my little collection of street art will brighten your day and inspire you to travel with open eyes.

Because: Beauty is everywhere...

IMG_0083_Fotor.jpg
Spiderman Streetart

One Truth Dog

IMG_0187_Fotor.jpg
This dog was literally all over Lisbon

IMG_0466_Fotor.jpg
We've always been afraid...

IMG_0467_Fotor.jpg
...that there's only "one truth".

Stylish Murals

IMG_0402_Fotor.jpg

A piece by Joao Cavalheiro. He knows, how to advertise, but he obviously uses the wrong network...

IMG_0399_Fotor.jpg

IMG_0398_Fotor.jpg
I like the flying fish.

South Side

IMG_6085_Fotor.jpg

We discovered the most interesting graffiti on the southern side of the city, near Cacilhas, where a lot of abandoned buildings became canvases for graffiti artists. You can walk the Rua do Ginjal using google streetview to get an impression of the area.

IMG_0462_Fotor.jpg

IMG_0465_Fotor.jpg

IMG_0443_Fotor.jpg

IMG_0464_Fotor.jpg

IMG_6059_Fotor.jpg
"Calling home"

IMG_6063_Fotor.jpg
"Insert Coin"

IMG_6060_Fotor.jpg
3D Gremlin

IMG_6065_Fotor.jpg

IMG_6064_Fotor.jpg
Master Yoda

IMG_6062_Fotor.jpg

IMG_6082_Fotor.jpg

IMG_6078_Fotor.jpg

IMG_6099_Fotor.jpg

IMG_6079_Fotor.jpg

IMG_6077_Fotor.jpg
"Exit Love" - This one was really huge and high above the street.

City Murals

Back in the city centre, we also spotted some cool murals.

IMG_6024_Fotor.jpg

IMG_0062_Fotor.jpg

IMG_5977_Fotor.jpg

IMG_0087_Fotor.jpg

IMG_0060_Fotor.jpg


I liked the cat sign above, but also the more simple line-art pieces, that we could see at every corner.

The Message

IMG_0096_Fotor.jpg

IMG_0095_Fotor.jpg


This message, that we spotted near Cascais beach, pretty much sums up, why I like streetart and graffiti.

IMG_0216_Fotor.jpg
"Freedom of speech"

I hope you enjoyed my Lisbon street-art overview :-)

Which one is your favorite?

Please let me know in the comments.

Thanks for watching!

@shortcut


All images were taken with my iPhone 6s and Canon Rebel T5i.


follow_shortcut.gif

Sort:  

Fantastic, that was worth the wait!

We've missed you, but I figured it had something to do with art. What an incredible collection of street art. That could be turned into a coffee table book.

Really great work!!

Thank you so much ;-) After the short break, it takes longer than expected to get back to my daily Steemit routine. Some 'real life' struggles waited for me, when I came back home. Besides that, I'm very glad, that you're still around :-)

I'm still hanging in there, at least until I reach the one year mark in mid June. I just posted my final sndbox article on Monday, that felt strange -- really grateful to K&M.

Good to know! K&M have a great community building spirit, which is really inspiring. Still thinking about a way to go to NYC and visit the exhibition. Until then, I will continue as an Alumni.

Btw: They accidentally mentioned me in this post being the author of your "Kiwanja -- Fiction". Don't know, how this happened, but we should correct them.

Yes they are both great guys, hope you are able to get to NYC. Cool that you are remaining in the alumni. I was still too up-in-the-air and undecided to make the commitment, still not sure about how to move forward.

K. is off this week, got married, so M. was probably super busy. I'm leaving in a few minutes for the annual ADAC Oldtimer Ralley in Bavaria, so if you want to mention the Kiwanja to him that would be great, he still can edit the post.

If I were you, I'd pay the monthly alumni fee. You could still quit at any time, if you decide to stop the experiment later on. Hope you have/had a lot of fun at the Oldtimer Ralley. Sounds like a cool topic for a blog post. I mentioned the Kiwanja mistake in the slack, hope they'll fix it.

Thanks again for letting M. know ;-) It was fun, and got back in time -- it looks like a thunderstorm will be starting any minute!

Welcome back! You have been missed.

I love the spiderman wall, but nothing beats the last ugly sentence on the stone wall. That is one cool picture.

Thanks cyberfriend™, good to know :-)

It's very interesting to know your favorites. Both of them are certainly not the kind of stuff, you see everywhere and wittingly or unwittingly carry a deeper meaning.

P.S.: Thanks for nominating me for the teenage music challenge. I pretty much like the idea, and I probably will jump on the train, as soon as I'm back to my daily routine.

Damn I almost forgot to make my daily teenage music post. It is a fast and fun little game.

As for street art I heard from people traveling in Albania that they have vampire and evil eye protection on their houses in the countryside consisting of barbie doll, garlic and other strange artifacts! The Spiderman wall reminded me about that. The punk spray can message is more important than ever... and it is a cool photo!

So much to do :-)
I can easily imagine both images woven into a Phill page.

As for the Albanians, that was completely new to me, but a short search brought up this article confirming, what people told you.

I guess this doll, I spotted at a flea market in Lisbon (which I saved for a later post), would make a great evil eye protection.
IMG_0072_Fotor.jpg

Great link! I just finished the post - good thing it is on time, so you just have to write like hell and then you are finished. Nice concept actually. Good to have you back :)

Haha, I recently had a similiar experience with my #MaySketchaDay artworks. I quite often remembered at half past 11 pm, that I had to do a an artwork to post on twitter, but that made me think less and be more spontanious ;-)

Yes, limitations can be a good thing sometimes.

Quite a collection of art pieces. I often wonder what artists think what's going to the mind when they create their artistry intriguing thanks. for sharing. @shortcut

That's an interesting question. I guess, some artists think a lot while other's just do it ;-)

Absoluter Favorit ist Megaman und der Gremlin. Setzt mich gleich in meine Kindheit zurück. Gut Robocop auch aber das durfte ich zu diesem Zeitpunkt offiziell nicht sehen VSK 😂

Ja das Megaman- und Gremlin-Piece fand ich auch extrem nice ;-) Danke für dein Feedback!

Holy Moly! Soo much cool stuff there in Lisbon.

I really like the works by Joao Cavalheiro.
But I also like this one too.

It reminds me of a childhood book.
I don't know exactly which book but I love it!

Yeah, this guy is really cool and funny :-) I like the line work in this one and I can easily imagine him as a children's book character.

One can never have too much of Lisbon, thank you for bringing me nice memories of this city I had visited 3 years ago.
It's city that should be back from time to time @shortcut.

You're very welcome :-) It's really a beautiful city with nice people and a lot of inspiration ;-)

Frankly say wonderful collection of street art, you are really so amazing that you collect the this type of theme based drawing, I think it is not only is street art but also a knowledgeable subject that always the people should know. A big thanks for your wonderful post.

You're welcome!

it is not only is street art but also a knowledgeable subject that always the people should know.

Streetart is definitely a serious art branch, although (or precisely because) not everybody likes it.

OH WOW ! These are GREAT !! I love that dog, with the balls he got !! :-D
My Hungarian friend @zoltanbristol should see these i think.
its a great post.jpg

Thank you Agnes! Maybe his balls are the dog's only truth ;-)
As you can see I've been off to a city trip for a few days, but now I'm back.

Welcome back !
I will keep an eye on you for more photos and stuff !
;-)

Thanks! I’m always having an eye on your feed. But as you post quite often, I‘m not always able to keep up with voting and commenting ;-)

I like to post 4 times a day.
I think it is necessary if i want to earn just a few sbd a day.
Later hopefully i won't need it.
:-)

I don't think, that you will make higher rewards, when you post 4 times a day instead of doing one post containing four artworks.

Speaking of myself, I can hardly read one post of every user a day (following > 1000 accounts), so 4 posts is definitely too much to interact with. It's easier to give one 100% upvote than four 25% upvotes (and comments). But that's only my humble opinion.

i understand, but my experience is that i often get only a few "cents" on my posts. Even if i post just one or two a day. And since some people put me on automated votes... then at least i get those. Also, everytime i post in different hours of the day, it is like i am fishing, and i get new followers everytime. It's not like i can count on all my "friends" here to upvote me.
:-)

Totally understandable. I'm not here to tell you, how to do things. But at least you know my point of view now ;-)

Fabulous street art from Lisbon, all are spectacular and i specially like the flying fish as it colourful 3D art.

Thanks for your feedback! I also liked the flying fish. It's a topic, I had even dealt with in my own art.

Wow! So much beauty in one place! And this is not even the main city for certain! Awww. Beautiful street art, I can only imagine the aura this place reeks of.

My favorite is the South Side!
Great job @shortcut!

@nevies

Thanks a lot for your comment! I also liked the South Side a lot. There were even some guys living in the abandoned buildings. It's definitely not the worst place to be with the water just a stone's throw away and surrounded by great art ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60929.80
ETH 2371.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49