Entry for Sketch Off Contest -Lady Loki- Edition 2: The Club of Antiheroes

in #art7 years ago

Dear Steemit friends!

The amounts of work I have to do now are insane, but I just couldn't resist participating in @zeroooc's wonderful Sketch Off Contest - Edition 2: The Club of Antiheroes- so here I go!

Below on an Ace of Diamonds card, you have my favourite antihero, Loki!

But portrayed as a girl :)

Ace of Diamonds Loki finito.jpg

Pencil on paper, processed digitally just a tiny bit :)

I wanted to recreate the photo of an actor Tom Hiddleston as Loki, as I find his mischievous smirk very appealing. I think he did a wonderful job playing Loki in Avengers. Definitely hope to see more of him in other Marvel productions.

THOR-THE-DARK-WORLD-Loki-Poster.jpg

Source of the image

PROGRESS STEP BY STEP

I'm not able to present you with the most initial steps of my artwork, as my progression of portraits is always an extremely messy, erratic & chaotic process, and it's simply almost impossible to document it. I'm always using lots of rubber and redraw the elements till I get the desired look. Below I've captured a moment when I'm almost content with how the face and figure look. The sketch is rough, as I was speed drawing (the contest is closing in couple of hours, so I had to be quick). Besides, I'm an amateur, so... :)

1.jpg

I had to made several corrections to the face. It was difficult to get those lips right. My shading here is symbolic more than realistic. The general rule was to follow the shape of the objects, to make it pop out a little more.

2.jpg

I used my so called bread eraser to get the shine in her eyes.

3.jpg

After some more minor changes to the face and some shading enhancement I decided to leave it as it was. I didn't want to risk overdoing it in any way, and I also didn't have much time to polish it.

4.jpg

At this point I took the drawing to GIMP, and using brush with different sizes and opacity I cleaned the background.

5.jpg

Then I was ready to put my drawing into the card. I chose a funny little card called Ace of Diamonds for my Lady Loki. As you can see my design here is quite minimalist, this has to do with my lack of experience as a digital artist, but I also like it simple. I think it goes well with the pencil texture.

What I did was I created in GIMP a background of a card, making it big enough to contain the card symbols and Loki. I placed Loki in the middle of the card, and then I created separate piece with letter A and the diamond shape, and pasted it twice (once upside down) onto the background. The final result was mostly obtained by the trial and error method :)

Ace of Diamonds Loki finito.jpg

Here's a GIF showing the progress of my drawing:

loki ace of diamonds.gif

Thank you Nikki for your great inititative! I really enjoyed drawing Lady Loki, as I was recently very worried about my lack of skills and experience in drawing and portraying. I think this entry counts as practice :)

How do you like my antihero, guys? I'm very happy you stopped by! I hope you enjoyed my entry, and as always...

footer 1.jpg

Love,

Klaudia

Sort:  

"an amature" & "lack of skills"??? Who are you talking about Klaudia? I love your work so much, you create such wonderful, beautiful, whimsical worlds!! I hope that you will see how talented you are and value yourself much much more than that! <3 <3 <3 <3

Thank you @shlomit, you're very kind! It means a lot, you give me confidence :) Thank you dear!
Love,
Klaudia

<3 <3 <3 <3

This is fantastic. I am a huge fan of Hiddleston's Loki, and always enjoy seeing Loki portrayed as female.

Thank you @shawnamawna :) so nice of you! All the best, Klaudia

This is a really pleasant entry from you Klaudia! So used to your shiny forest creatures, this is a bit of a departure! Very well done!

Thank you @mikepm74, so nice to hear from you :) Thank you, I'm glad you like it! I felt ambitious and wanted to try something else. A personal challenge of mine I guess ;)
Love,
Klaudia

omg Tom Hiddleston is dah BOMB!!
Very good job on the drawings too.
I wish I could draw like that.

Thanks @lordnigel93! I appreciate your visit to my blog ;) All the best, Klaudia

resteemed! Following!

Thank you @organicfilms! Appreciate it a lot! :) All the best, Klaudia

I love Loki character! I think you did great job with this entry.

Very classy!

Oh this is a really strong entry Klaudia! I like that you took an established character and gave it a spin of your own. Watching you construct the drawing in layers is rather fascinating. As a deity Loki is a good choice for the Ace! He most certainly is an Antihero too! You also did well documenting your process and then turning it into an animation, the gif is very smooth! You do seem to have invented a fifth suit of cards though ;)

Down the Bifrost and back again.

Haha yeah, well black diamond it is :P Thank you for this interesting comment, you give an interesting insight rather than compliments and that just has a great value to me.
Love,
Klaudia

A unique suit for a unique artist I guess! You can try and work the black diamond into your next drawing :)

Oh I think praise and critique need to be balanced. It's important for growth see.

Right you are, Sir!

I'd love to see an actual deck of cards with antiheroes on them XD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62869.05
ETH 2545.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72