Month in Review: December

in #art7 years ago

B6C3EB63-77B0-45A5-BA4B-36C908A33F2E.JPG

Most of December was dedicated to moving forward with the Surrealist Erotica series

I added several films to the series and created some re-creations of Surrealist photos to be used for a future print component to the project.

For the most part, the links under the photos and gifs go to my posts on Steemit where I provide more detail about the film/photo.

The films created this month for the series:

meretjoan.jpeg
A still from Inside Out // inspired by Meret Oppenheim

elsajoanpope.jpeg
A still from Surreal Wear // inspired by Elsa Schiaparelli

manraymask.jpeg
A still from The Mask // inspired by Man Ray

mayaderenwitch.jpeg
A still from The Witch // inspired by Maya Deren

This one is a bonus feature. Its a recreation of a photo by Man Ray of hands painted by Picasso. If you like the music you can download the track from dsound.

The photos/gifs for the series:

doramaarjoan.jpeg
The Years Lie In Wait For You // inspired by Dora Maar

giphy (14).gif
The Mannequin // inspired by Andre Masson

IMG_9743.JPG
Electricity // inspired by Man Ray

manrayhier.jpeg
Hier // inspired by Man Ray

giphy (9).gif
Facile // inspired by Paul Eluard, Nusch Eluard, and Man Ray

Surrealist Erotica // from Joan Pope on Vimeo.

Usually I also produce paper collages and stop motion videos but I wasn't very happy with what I was coming up with this month so I scrapped most of my attempts.

Here's one of the collages, its not my best:

the_cycle_of_life_and_death_by_sexdeathrebirth-dbvutpl.jpg
The Cycle of Life and Death by SexDeathRebirth on DeviantArt

It was also a slow month for music. Since I released my album at the end of November, I've been focused on promoting it.

Death is Coming by The Whip Angels from Joan Pope on Vimeo.

Here's a link to a review of the album for anyone who is interested.

Sort:  

I've been enjoying your work, so I just bought your album! Thank you.

Thank you so much! ❤️❤️❤️

And the album is great! There's some really surprising stuff in it. Really loving it.

Glad I stumbled upon you.

Love the diversity of this body of work of yours and am particularly drawn to the film homage inspired by Andre Masson and your collage with grid and circles.

For some very long while I have been unable to fully commit to my art practice due to hobbled living conditions. This is soon to change and your work and commitment to it has fired me up - roll on 2018!

Upvoted/Followed I look forward to virtually sharing your journey and wish you happiness, creativity and success for the New Year and beyond.

xox

I invite you to pop by mine if you have time. I am an artist/writer/lightworker with much to say! I would surely love your thoughts on my most recent post: https://steemit.com/life/@ldacey-laforge/5ghp2z-if-i-say-fuck-are-you-offended

Thank you! I've been fortunate to have able to dedicate as much time and focus as I have this past year. It was sort of unintentional at first, but my life's circumstances ended up leaving me with the time to pursue it. I hope 2018 brings you the changes you desire!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58402.42
ETH 2727.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34