I Made This Animation When I Was 7 Years Old

in #art8 years ago

I spiced up the graphics for the thumbnail, but everything you see below is the genuine work of a 7-year-old Seth. 

I recently moved to a new house. Now that I finally have a good amount of space I've been clearing all my junk out of my parents' place. Going through my old stuff I found this little flipbook that I made seventeen years ago. I photographed all the frames, lined them up on Photoshop and made a GIF out of it. 

And here it is!

I mean... it's actually not bad right?

Clearly my understanding of timing, physics, abbreviation (Snowbrd?) and story were lacking (how does it end?? WILL HE SURVIVE!!??) but for the work of a 7-year-old I think this is pretty darn impressive. 

This has led me to an interesting realization...

I've been circling around this passion my entire life

I only got into hand-drawn animation as a filmmaker when I was 21. I made a short film for a visual arts class in University just to experiment with the medium. But I fell in love with it and almost every film I've made since then has been animated. 

I'm 24 now. My career in/passion for serious animation has only been a part of my life for three and a half years. But when I look back at my childhood it seems like I've been working toward this the whole time:

  • I've been drawing since before I could talk
  • I made my first hand-drawn animation at 7
  • When I was 13 I made a Lego stop-motion short
  • In my early teenage years I experimented with claymation
  • In my later teens I learned about 3D animation

It's so strange that animation has popped up in my life so many times but I never considered it as a possibility for my career until 3 years ago. 

Thanks for reading and watching! If you liked this post, please follow me @sethlinson.


~Seth

Sort:  

Hi @sethlinson good to see another animator on here :) Great you started from such an early age

Hi @charlotteblacker! Good to see you here too.

I just checked out your profile and some of your work, really cool stuff! I'll be following you. I also added you to the animation channel that I created on Steemit Chat.

I like one of the videos you did quite a bit. Might need to talk to you about making one for my project here soon.

That would be awesome. I'm always open to collaboration. When it comes to it you can message me on Steemit chat. I have the same username there.

wow! 7 years old!
That's amazing Seth.
Following :)

When you were seven, you were:

I hope I still am in some way :)

Goes without saying :)

Nice animation :) not as easy as it looks

This looks alot like linerider, cool!

I forgot all about linerider! Yea it does kind of look like that.

So what can you do now?

I do digital hand-drawn animation. Up until a year ago I did all my work pen-on-paper, but I finally learned how to use my tablet.

I've only been doing this for a few years and animation takes a lot of time so my portfolio isn't that big, but here are a few examples of my work:

I will check them :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62630.85
ETH 2463.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61