Sketchbook Pieces- Icarus

in #art6 years ago

Icarus Pieces

Just an FYI that this Icarus is my own spin on the Greek mythology character. Icarus in my eyes is not male nor female but is simply both and neither at the same time and can switch between the two.

This was originally brought to my attention after reading "A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man" by James Joyce; I'd read it in Irish literature in college via Running start during last fall quarter.
...And I wanted to find a balance with the character without having to draw Icarus in one gender. (Personally I enjoy the female version a tad more.)

The name Icarus as well as tight and uncomfortable situations Stephen was even brought up while I was in a relationship with my last ex. I remember it now, feeling excited and overjoyed by how easily I could relate to being an Icarus multiple senses. Relating to Icarus has had its good and bad moments but the tied connection still seems to startle me regardless.

Going back to the main focus of this post, I don't know where to start or how I will start but I plan on starting a comic on my Icarus story sometime soon. And I'm relieved at the fact that I won't have school for a while and thus can get into the swing of creating more art! I'll try to keep everything posted here and to not forget to keep posting.

Enjoy these latest pieces!


Please comment any questions if you have them!

Sort:  

These look great! Looking forward to your new comic.

Congratulations @scarletteclaw! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15