Working in the Studio Opals Encasement and Making a Pendant

in #art7 years ago

These are rough Gilson opals.

Natural opals are a hydrated silica, as the definition implies they have a degree of moisture content.
Gilson opals are lab created synthetic opals, they do not contain any water. They have the highest silica content of lab created opals. They are very durable and certainly not as vulnerable to changes in temperature or drying out like natural opals, it's these properties that make them perfect for use inside borosilicate (a silica based) glass.

Encasing Opals

Next is getting the opals into some glass, while they may be a lot more durable than the natural opals there are still things to consider when encasing them in glass. you need as few air bubbles as possible and to be able to put the opal in a glass piece where you need it at the right point during constructing a piece.

So instead of adding them right to a constructed piece, they are first encased in a thin layer of clear glass. This is done by dropping an opal into a closed off tube of clear glass and melting it in, using suction to draw out any unwanted air.

This segment of video was taken from my last studio session, showing how I encase my opals.

And Finally

I created a pendant with that opal, the spirals were made using double amber purple (a reactive colour that can produce hues of amber, green, purple, reds or pinks.) and white.
The spiral is backed in a flecked blue that adds to the illusion of a galaxy in space.

You can see the opal nestled towards the front of the pendant, floating within the vortex like a planet.


I'm Scarlet, borosilicate flameworker and geek.
Thanks for reading

etsy facebook twitter instagram

photos and screenshots: @scarletleonard | PAL logo @minnowsupport | stock images canva

minnowsupportbanner.gif


Sort:  

Thx for this good read im the very first stage of setuping my studio always fun to read and watch knowledgeable people work boro. Cheer

Nice, what torch are you starting with?

If you have any questions feel free to ask. If you haven't already get yourself a copy of Bandu's Contemporary Lampworking 1&2.


Scarlet

Just a minnow swimming in the undertow

I got my self a nortel redmax whit a premix top fire . Still dont have a kiln yet bot i plan buildings my own. I dont have the book you stated ill take a look into that. I have watch all revere glass on the torch and alot of torchtalk videos on youtube . Feel like im ready jump into this amazing form of art.

Nice, I still use a midrange with a surface mix top (I work on oxycons as you can't just pop down the road and get a k-tank here.) But it does the job I need it too.

Dustin's videos are awesome, I learnt a lot from those even though I don't do functional art and the TT gang are great, lots of different tech explored in their videos.
What are you looking at making?

I don't know anything about building kilns, seems a lot of artists in the states take that route where as us Brits buy manufactured kilns.

It's a fabulous book. I wish it had been available here when I first started but I still found it very useful after 8 years at the torch.


Scarlet

Just a minnow swimming in the undertow

I just order the book.my planis to make shot glass pendant marbel dabber and small stuff to begins and latter downthe road move to fonctional art. I wqs looking at oxycon bot i find out it was a bit to expensive for the momwnt i only have a 50amp main in the shop and whit the kiln ventilatione light and music it wont have enough power maybe have 40lpm of oxycon. I went the t size tank i already have tabks for my welding tools so im ok dealing whits tanks. Space is an issue since my studio is in my garage and i still want to be able to work on my cars and other projects oxycon take alot of space aswell

Great, you'll find it really useful.

Sounds like you really have your head screwed on tight, you can sometimes see kids with a hothead that think they are going to be the next Mothership or Chuily in the first week 😂 😂 😂

Flame on! I'm looking forward to hearing more about your journey.


Scarlet

Just a minnow swimming in the undertow

From my past experience i know how craftwork can take alit of seatime to master.ill make my introduction post this week end whit pictures of my setup whit the torch light up for the first timeand try to explain where i come from and where i want to go.thanks alot for all advices and flame on!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77