Making a custom action figure: Prep work

in #art6 years ago


trex prep.jpg

Today I took the first concrete step in turning the Trex figure I got mentioned in previous posts:
Trex era and Venomsaurus project

Today was all prep work, and more will get done (behind the scenes without another post). Thankfully I have guidance from a genuinely amazing customizer, and good friend who goes by Charles Chop. You can see some of his previous customs, and works in progress at his instagram page. YEAH YEAH I KNOW "get him on steemit @saywha"... I got him on steemit, and then... he immediately lost his password haha.

Anyways, back to the process...

We started by assessing what we wanted to do with it, getting the finished product in mind. After establishing the end goal, I got started with sanding the figure with a 150 grit sandpaper which is fairly "heavy" for what we are doing, it will be finished with a 320 ultra fine grit. The point of sanding and prepwork is to make sure that the paint can properly adhere to the figure, and will not chip or come off later on.

Today I completed about 3.5 hours of sanding

It likely will take an equal amount of sanding with the smaller grit

Charles was telling me that sanding is his least favorite part of doing a custom because it is so tedious, and he wants to move on to the more exciting parts, but it was not so bad, especially when you have a friend there to talk to and music to listen to. Today's playlist consisted of aesop rock, logic, and watsky. Listening to good music, and talking to a great friend makes any tedious task fly by.

After all of the sanding is complete, we will fill in the screw holes with putty, sand again, then clean it with rubbing alcohol. After sufficient prep work is done for the figure we can move on to the fun stuff thats probably a bit less tedious!

In the meantime, don't forget to play

ded logan.jpg

Sort:  

T-Rexcellent!

Lolol. Solid

Nice man! That guy has some serious skill (in losing passwords as well...), how long do you think it will take until you're finished with the entire rex sanding treatment? Shit is going to look awesome!!

The sanding will probably take another 3 hours or so as well as some other prep... I imagine this whole process will take quite a while as I cannot work on it every day.

Damn! Also after painting? You rub that rex, and you rub it good. Every day son!

No Logan no!
I am almost back. Can't wait to see more

man. I am so pumped for the final product

Sounds interesting, I will be keeping my eye out for the final results

Increíble me encanto su trabajo. Admirable. Debe ponerle mucha paciencia.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94