Plein Air Painting - Morning Fog, Taumarere, New Zealand

in #art5 years ago

e2d40cf7-00bd-4f12-a2a7-c34e9cde87ba.jpeg

227c387c-0143-45c6-8baa-3866bcf25cab.jpeg


I painted this art work outdoors en plein air. There are many winter mornings in the Bay of Islands area, New Zealand where there is valley fog. I have driven through this area many times when it has been foggy and I wanted to capture it on canvas (or linen in my case).⁣

The other day I was lucky enough to catch the morning mist. I had to paint quickly as within half an hour of me painting the fog had virtually gone. Luckily I had got down enough information on my linen panel that I was able to finish the painting even after the fog had lifted.⁣

I love getting myself outside of my comfort zone and painting new things.⁣

I painted this art work in oils on a linen panel made of Baltic birch.⁣⁣⁣

Morning Fog, Taumarere, 8" x 10", oil on linen panel, painted outdoors en plein air.


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Bit of a difference in what you were painting and what you eventually photographed :O was it cold when the fog was fully in? This does look pretty different from all the stuff I've seen from you so far, and still looks great :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63166.66
ETH 2575.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77