Mathematics and Art - The Dimensionist Manifesto (1936) - Have you read it?

in #art7 years ago (edited)

David Roy Pulsar

Some years ago I initiated a collaboration between the worlds of art and mathematics for Maths Year 2000 in the UK. I was pleasantly surprised at the enthusiasm of the art galleries in allowing this new dimension to be added to their displays. It was not about a superficial geometric analysis but about some deeper ideas that the artist was expressing and which, perhaps, needed some light shone upon them.

In my readings of that period, I recall a brief document: the Manifeste Dimensioniste, by Charles Sirato, Paris, 1936. Although penned at a time when some of the famous early-modern movements were already past their most fecund phase, the Dimensionist Manifesto gushes forth an exuberance that this is just the beginning! It takes its inspiration from “the new conception of space and time” as developed in “geometry, mathematics and physics.”

Sirato used the expression “N+1” as an artistic function to expand each artform by an extra dimension. Thus, paintings come out of their canvas and statues become kinetic; his ultimate vision is of a “Cosmic Art”, a “Vaporisation of Sculpture” (sounds pretty close to virtual reality environments). Indeed, I couldn’t help feeling that contemporary art after that point was just different ways of following the Dimensionist Manifesto; yet another installation syndrome!

So, if you’re an artist or art historian, did this Manifesto influence you at all? If you are reading it now for the first time, how forward-looking is it? Does it, even now, some 80 years later, open up any further new dimensions?

Please upvote, resteem and follow @rycharde… and upvote each other’s comments too!

Sort:  

<3 love that I something similar today and you liked it as well. Check the challenge question in my post. You may find an aswer to it. Not that hard. It is actually embedded in this answer.

Hi #rycharde! I see most of your post are about mathematics - which I really loved. Hoping you can create a platform/game/event in steemit where users compete each other online.

The idea is, everything will start in steemit. From posting, announcement, and registration is on steemit.

Once the lineup/entries are finalized. You will create group chats for the participants. The idea is knock-down type, where the last one standing is the winner. I'll surely be one of the participants.

Topics would include at the very easiest of math, until the difficult ones. Users who ranked the at higher places will be given percentage of the rewards from your post. Or, plus from a donator. After the event, post the update again in steemit for the list of winners.

I am hoping for a positive feedback! Let us revolutionize mathematics here in Steemit! :)

Yes, I've seen some of the crypto-challenges do very well. Similar but more mathematical and less... cryptic?
On the net, pretty much any problem has a place where you can find a solution, hence, making the questions not just unique but possibly not obvious is the attraction of the crypto-games.

I shall have to ponder this... thanks for the suggestion.

Are you following @math-trail already so as to get all updates?

Ohh, @math-trail . I didn't know this. Good thing you've share this one. What I just saw was @gaming-trail and @sports-trail I think. I will definitely check their posts. Thank you buddy!

idk, but that image at the top reminds me of the flower of life. so, that's cool :-)

I'd like to see what became of your collaboration between math and art for Maths Year 2k. is there a gallery online where I can see some of the art?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57899.47
ETH 3134.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39