BUSHFIRE. Original art.

in #art6 years ago (edited)

13939391_1067468396635000_2672104404697178374_n.jpg
BUSHFIRE.
24x30cm. Oil and egg tempera on board.
Vienna 2015

Bushfires are in my retina, engraved in my emotional memory.
Our island goes through months of dry season every year and our forest is very vulnerable.
During the years I worked in the fire brigade I had many intense experiences and this is how I think these images, from time to time flourish when I paint.
I quit the firefighting at the end of 2011 but still feel part of the experience. It´s always in my heart.
I just wanted to share some images to share a taste of what this work is like.

In a bush fire we work with adrenaline, fear, companionship, orientation and above all, it´s very necessary to have a fast creative mind to resolve new situations on the go. I love that challenge.

Here is an image of a painting of 2003.
FIREPHANTOM2.jpg
FANTASMA DE FUEGO.2003Acrílico sobre lienzo de pasta.
Fire phantom 2003. (50x65cm

I only have very few pics because, as you can imagine, when one is woking in full on mode, there is not even a thought of taking a photo.The photos are taken, in moment´s we get to rest in between or training sessions, or by local news papers.

1.JPG
image from local news paper of a night fire I was working in. 2010

despuesincendio.jpg
this is what a rest looks like.

trainingssend.jpg
helicopter training. photo by Rafael Rabassa. https://www.facebook.com/RafaRRF

flying.jpg
I LOVE helicopter flying! training flight.

Romanie en la brigadasend.jpg
tired but happy...after the fire was put out. ( pic taken by a friend in 2009.)

I hope you got a little taste of this experience,
best wishes,
Romanie
for more about my art: www.romanie.net

Sort:  

Wow. It looks like excited. You look like tired.

Gorgeous art and gorgeous post * ___ * You are a brave and talented person, and your spirits show through your arts! Very incredible <3 <3 <3

upvotes and resteems

Thank you Veryspider! that is very sweet of you to say that...I´m happy you enjoyed that.

I like you very much Romanie. Although I do not know you, but I feel very close your art and the way how you express your emotions.

Yes Mirjana! likewise. May be we meet someday! IN the mean time it´s nice to get to know you this way also.

amazing work and wonderful story.

Your colours and use of warm tones in your background are so enticing. I'm resteeming you :)

I need to do my own #artistbehindtheart post too!

Thank you Donna!

I can't imagine anything more frightening than fighting fire, especially those big bush fires. I take my hat off to your bravery and I think it's fantastic that you're able to channel those emotions into your art. Well done brave lady

Thank you.
I just checked out your posts and I think you have great taste in art, you have posted some wonderful ones! Thank you! I´m following!

Thank you so much @romanie that means a lot to me. I don't think the rest of the world are exposed much to South African art and artists. We have so many fantastic artists here that deserve to be seen and appreciated by the rest of the world. Unfortunately the art are not supported enough here and not a priority due to the financial and political instability. So I will keep posting works of all my friends here.

Wonderful! I look forward to knowing more! thanks!

Romanie, this, and other episodes of your life could be gathered in a post under the tag #artistbehindthearttreat - check it out, a few of us have already contributed. I find it even more interesting since wildfires are a common occurrence where I lived in Canada. While I had nothing to do with firefighting (except the odd grass fire we ourselves started with sparks from our locomotives), I was involved with putting derailed trains back on the track. And yesterday we talked with @reinhard-schmid about his experience in the navy, serving on u-boats!
There are quite a few artists with colorful backgrounds!

hi Otto, so, do you mean I can change the tag so it appears in that category? Thanks for the tip, I´ll try it. :-)

cool, you did - at least for a while we can find you there. Too bad the listing does not stay after seven days - quite a few are missing now, such as mine, Reinhard etc
https://steemit.com/artistbehindthearttreat/@thermoplastic/for-a-change-about-me-myself-and-i-the-artist-behind-the-art
It was supposed to be a challenge that Reinhard started, but it really did not take off as well as I had imagined:
https://steemit.com/artistbehindthearttreat/@reinhard-schmid/the-artist-behind-the-art-treat

I´m still a bit confused at how this all works. I don´t have time to spend hours here, but I do explore a little each evening if possible, and on the way discover new ways of functioning ...

Congrats @romanie! You've been nominated by @twirble to win some $$$ in my Underrated Steemian Contest! If you guys win, you get to split the entire post payout 50/50! For another chance to win, feel free to nominate another steemian you think is underrated :)

Thank you! although I don´t really understand this... ummmm but it sounds good!

I bet that no matter how difficult this work was, the rewarding feeling after a successful "mission" cannot be described with words.

I loved your paintings! Especially the first one, it's dark and depressive, like the scenery after the destruction, but the dove gives a note of hope.
And the second one, is so vivid, as if you can feel the fire devouring everything, but for some reason it gives me the sense of a fire destructive but regenerating... art is a weird thing, we all see different images in the artist's work.

Thank you Ruth for your comment and insight! It is very rewarding to work in a great team of people and achieve! That is very fulfilling.

Awesome! Firefighting is a great experience :) Waiting to go out again in the summer.

It must be quite different out in the large extensions of the US, I have watched a lot of videos from the work over there.Good work!!!

It's ironic that fire can be fascinating and even beautiful. It is a destructive and deadly beauty.

It sure is! It´s one of those truths! It´s so powerful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10