15 Days of Lunch Time Sketching - ART/DRAWING/ BLOG POST

in #art5 years ago (edited)

Your paragraph text copy 4.png

Creating Time For What Matters

Hello everyone! I hope you had a good week, and can enjoy your weekend in whatever you do. I also hope you are able to create a little bit of extra time for yourself, to dive into doing the thing you love the most!

Even artists can complain about not having enough time to draw. But why is that? Don’t we all have the same amount of time in a day, but just different priorities? Do we really need to spend our entire lunch break sat inside another building, waiting for a food order, scrolling through social media to see what we are missing out on, and talking about the weather and politics? Could we use some of that lunch hour to do a little bit extra on our creative project(s)?

It doesn't have to be our entire lunch hour of course, we need to eat and refresh ourselves and actually take a break. But what about 30 minutes? What about 15 minutes, or 10?

These minutes all add up, and you might be surprised at what you can produce in a limited time. And this of course doesn't only apply to art and drawing. It could be reading, writing, practicing anything. I don't know about you, but when I know I only have a certain number of minutes remaining to do something, I usually step up, and bring myself fully to the challenge and focus all my energy as well as I can in that moment on producing whatever I can produce.

Recently I have been spending a lot of time working on my assignments, my website and painting, on top of all of the other things that need to be done. I love painting and learning but sometimes I do miss doing simple drawings with pencils, pens and lines. So I decided to try and do a quick lunch sketch/drawing every day during the week to get a bit of extra practice in, on top of my other work and study.

15 Days Of Lunch Break Ink Sketching

Below are the first 15 days of lunch break sketching that I have completed so far. None were planned in advance, I just decided minutes before what I wanted to draw and went for it. The first one is of a Finnish girl I met in a hostel in Colombia on my South America trip. You can find out a little bit more about that trip by checking out a recent blog post of mine Painting & Sketching Patagonia

20190716_141509-01-01.jpeg

Above image; Day 1. This is my ink drawing of Jessica, a Finnish girl who I met in my hostel in Cartagena, Colombia.

20190717_131937-01-02.jpeg

Above image; Day 2. This is my ink drawing master study of one of Norman Rockwell's Illustrations.

20190718_130824-01-02.jpeg

Above image; Day 3. This is my ink drawing of a lioness, as we approached entering the astrological sign of leo.

20190719_130443-01-03.jpeg

Above image; Day 4. This is my ink drawing of another lioness stretching.

20190720_161041-01.jpeg

Above image; Day 5. This is my ink drawing of a woman about to eat her soup, inspired by a Norman Rockwell illustration.

20190722_122417-01.jpeg

Above image; Day 6. This is my ink drawing of a spontaneous frog.

20190723_132532-01.jpeg

Above image; Day 7. This is my ink drawing of a woman peering at her reflection in the water of a lake, calm and relaxed, enjoying her time alone.

20190725_140628-01.jpeg

Above image; Day 8. This is my ink drawing of a black jaguar in the forest.

I also went on to create a digital art full colour illustration/vignette of a black jaguar inspired from this initial sketch, and wrote a tutorial blog post on how I did it, which you can read here; Painting The Black Jaguar

20190726_134712-01.jpeg

Above image; Day 9. This is my ink drawing of a character from the Lord of The Rings trilogy.

20190727_174924-01.jpeg

Above image; Day 10. This is my ink drawing of, can you guess who?.

20190729_141510-01.jpeg

Above image; Day 11. This is my ink drawing of another character from the Lord of The Rings.

20190730_140752-01.jpeg

Above image; Day 12. This is my ink drawing of a ranger.

20190731_131246-01.jpeg

Above image; Day 13. This is another ink drawing of mine of a ranger.

20190724_132423-01.jpeg

Above image; Day 14. Another one inspired by the LOTR.

20190801_133922-01.jpeg

Above image; Day 15. And finally, a contemplative and hopeful female looks up to the sky.

I hope you enjoyed my post, and I hope you can create a little bit of extra time to work on something that truly matters to you.

Have a great weekend!

Thank you for reading

*note; This is mostly an updated and edited blog post from my previous post, which I wasn't able to edit due to some unknown error message. I can't even edit to delete the content inside that post. This is a new and improved version. Thank you!

Sort:  

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

These are fantastic! So fun.
Manually curated by @akiroq.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61672.72
ETH 2996.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78