Some of the Lantern Festival Decor at Changzhou's Dinosaur Park

in #art8 years ago

In my end of China, December brings fancy Christmas decorations, but that usually pales in comparison to the hoopla Spring Festival / Chinese New Year gets. Part of Spring Festival is Lantern Festival, which marks the end of China's most important and longest holiday. Typically, this includes fancy, elaborate, and colorful displays. If Changzhou's Dinosaur Park wasn't weird enough, this just adds to the kitsch. 


These displays are meant to be cartoonish. Taking photos of these places during the day does them a disservice. I am playing on returning there at night when these things are lit up and glowing. I thought it might be good, however, to have two posts on this topic to show the contrast. 

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing and I surely look forward to seeing the night shots now. This is so child-like an group of arrangements, kids must have a blast there!?! Namaste :)

Night shots. I was just there, obviously, and there were lots of parts taking photos of their kids in front of the displays. https://steemit.com/art/@richristow/latern-festival-decorations-at-changzhou-s-dino-park-at-night

Wow, if during the day is a disservice, I can't wait to see the night pictures. These remind me of the It's a Small Ride world at Disney a little bit.

I will try and return tomorrow night and take pictures of the same things. On Sunday, I am likely going to go to Zhenjiang (a city nearby) and am hoping to take pictures of their Lantern Festival displays. In my experience, they are all different. Spring Festival lasts a while, here. So I may post on this subject a few times over the next three weeks.

Good to hear it will be coming, I really am curious how those figures will look with lit up designs around, really has to look neat I'm sure.

The Lantern Festival display already sounds interesting just by that name. I am not going to Google what this is and just wait to see if I catch the post here. Awesome posts!

Not to plug an old post, but to totally plug an old post. This is what Dino Park looks like when it is NOT Lantern festival. It is still strange..... =D https://steemit.com/photography/@richristow/one-of-the-most-outlandish-places-in-changzhou

lol, wtf. That is amazing large artwork they have out there. I wonder who envisions this and who approves things. I would say those dinosaurs need more feathers but I also see they weren't going for realism once I seen the one dino fighter riding the other. Wow, just wow, really cool stuff live I am sure.

Bonus is Mr Beans face just sticking out of everything lol.

Changzhou has two Mr. Bean Coffee shops. Yes, you read that correctly. and they are licensed my Rowan Atkinson. Thanks for the idea -- totally going to be a steemit post some day soon.

Wow... and I thought i started seeing year of the rooster decorations too early in town yesterday.

I guess it's like Christmas decor in America. Always finding excuses to put it up earlier year by year.... =D

even our Christmas decorations are earlier this ear.
i think it has to do with Chinese New Year being earlier this year.
The retailers has less period of sale and there's news in the past that when Chinese New Year is earlier, it impacts their business negatively.

Very nice captures @richristow!!! I'm curious about that tubular thing in the first image? It looks like each section has a seat in it.

That tubular thing is rolling park bench that can be steered and driven (just very slowly)

Looks like a lot of fun. Thanks for sharing. Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58239.61
ETH 2287.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50