One of the Most Outlandish Places in Changzhou

in #photography8 years ago (edited)


Dinosaur Park is one of the most outlandish places in Changzhou, and it's also one of the cities few actual tourist attractions. Changzhou is a place I often like to compare to Pittsburgh back in America. Very industrial in its history, but not the sort of flash you would see in a place like New York or Shanghai.  Photos of the epic weirdness here could cover several posts, and so this is a more general introduction. The place can be divided into two sections. This is the front entrance to the retail section. Think of it is an extremely gaudy shopping plaza before you have to pay to get into the amusement park. 


Yes, Mr. Bean has a coffee chain. It's also legit. This is not intellectual property theft, and Rowan Atkinson actually makes money off of this in China. By the way, the coffee is terrible. If you want strange ambiance, go to Mr. Bean; if you want decent coffee, go to Starbucks -- which is at Dinosaur park, as is KFC, McDonalds, and even Subway at one point. 



Yet, this Subway closed down. Changzhou used to have three of them. Now, they are down to one. And, truth be told, Subway isn't all that great to be begin with. Part of me is glad to see them gone. However, despite all the weird vibrancy and gaudy architecture, there is still a lot of empty storefronts. A new wing of the plaza recently opened. Still, the place is as weird as every.  And, there are lots of silly statues of dinosaurs. 

Sort:  

first. lizard people are awesome.

second, I wish there was a Mr. Bean coffee in Dalian long enough for me to get a picture. Starbucks is the default coffee shop in Dalian for expats. There's some other good but they require you to sit and be served expensive coffee that usually isn't as good as starbucks but sometimes its better. I do miss Timmy's from Canada. haha, if you know it.

and 3rd
I don;t like subway we got 3 i know of here all to far me to walk to luckily or i might get suckered in to it.

Interesting place.

Costa -- the british starbucks -- seems to be second banana to Starbucks here. Strangely enough, we have two Mr. Beans here, too.

And yes, lizard people are awesome! =)

@solarguy I like subway better than Mac.
BTW @richristow, in this post, you seem to have 2 image not loading but I think you are trying put in this link: http://www.licensemag.com/license-global/mr-bean-coffee-shops-open-china
but use the image icon rather than the link icon in the Editor.

I was wondering about that. They are not images, but weird Icons that I can't see once I switch back to the editor. I don't see them and can't remove them. I will try again.

For me, I work with html and paste in the code in Markdown mode.
Sometimes, after that preview OK and posted then things get truncated.
Then I try to fix it my own html and when I edit, I had to delete everything and paste all my stuff again. I tried editing in the editor mode before and a few times it mess things up further.
That's why I stick to my way now.

Newly getting educated in the way of crypto has made me realize that there is a lot I need to learn.... code, computers, computer parts, it's been quite a roller coaster the last couple of weeks. So much new stuff to learn....

Come to steemit.chat if need any help. I know the people in this channel are quite helpful:
https://steemit.chat/channel/steemprentice
I go in but not very often.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61119.19
ETH 2615.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65