Sort:  

Hey @reinhard-schmid! I think its funny that you mention the brushes, because that honestly is something I still struggle to do well myself. I have downloaded a few free brush packs online and still find myself sticking to the basics - soft round that I just change the size on to get harder or softer edges, and a rectangular shaped brush that has a bit of texture in it so I get that slight brush stroke appeal. I think you should continue to give it a try - the thing I love the most is it makes me feel so free and I don't worry about mistakes as much. I got into watercolors a lot my senior year of college and it was very nerve wracking because you put too much down and you loose all the goodness - lol - I was always so terrified with every choice. Digital lets me play with a lot of different types of drawing and painting - I can get the feel of a pencil, oil, watercolor, pastel, etc. and it stays so flexible, never tied down to one direction, always able to experiment and undo if I hate it. Thank you so much for stopping by - your work just amazes me and your work is a big inspiration to me! :)

Haha.. the brushes, oh well! I definitely see the advantages of digital and the option, that you can always go back and make changes. I use it a lot for the preparation of a new painting, or to change the appearance of a finished one for prints.

Some 10 years ago I was determined to actually do a full underpainting digitally and then finish it in traditional media. Spent hours to design and modify a series of brushes to act like the real ones I'm using. I did finish the digital step and even worked a bit on the printed canvas. But then it got totally screwed up and I never finished the piece. When I wanted to do another, I found out, that I somehow lost the customized brushes, which was so frustrating, that I never spent enough time again, to produce anything decent this way.

With my glass paintings its very different, but with oil on canvas I like the old Flemish approach, where you separate the creation of shape and color. That gives you a lot of freedom to finish a step to your satisfaction and only then add another layer..

Oh my.. yes, I would have been devastated lol.. probably a full on emotional melt down would have ensued for me!! I just love that you paint on glass, its amazing, such a surface. I did a lot of painting on glass as a part time job working for a woman in college painting glasses, windows, furniture, etc with whimsical designs and a LOT of hand lettering.. and I loved how the brush would just sail across the surface, like butter. It felt really good.

I will have to look into the flemmish painting that you are talking about. I have had many different professors, and in high school I had the best art teacher - he was so out there and really pushed me creatively. He taught me the process of painting the base in sepia, defining shape and light through value, then, using thin glazes of color on top to build the image. Is this what you mean? I am going to the google to find out more lol! I love learning new techniques, especially old master techniques!

Yes, that's one of the ways to do it, although I learned it more the other way round. On a ground of English red, you build up shape and light by using only white. Not trying to spam your comments, but if you like, you can see my process at this post I did a while back.

Cool! I will definitely give it a look - no worries, I am glad you shared! I love learning about new techniques!

YES! I remember this piece of yours. I remember actually commenting on that one lol - it's funny because I was just thinking of that piece when sharing your work with my husband, and I couldn't find it. Then low and behold - that is the one you shared! What a coincidence! Thanks again for sharing! @reinhard-schmid

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 49842.52
ETH 2229.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.00