My (not so) secret passion - and the invention of the LadySkates!

in #art7 years ago

Anyone who knows my work, knows, that I have a weakness for high heels. Well, not a big problem for someone with an otherwise flawless personality, right?... hehehe... don't I wish ;-) A friend over at fb regularly puts his finger right on the spot of my work and always uncovers all the things I thought I had hidden so carefully ;-)

Anyways, for an example of my little passion, today will be just a short post on a small painting I did some two years ago with the title "LadySkates"

ladySkatesII-hd.jpg

Its roughly 4x6 inches small and done in a mixed media technique of acrylics and oil. The idea was to design some renaissance-style-high-heel-inline-skates for the "highly sophisticated lady" ;-)

I usually start with a drawing on paper

IMG-Mittel.jpg

The painting is on a small wooden box, turned upside down. The Gesso is followed by a layer of light English red, and then I paint the whole picture in white only, this way only painting the shape (picture taken from an earlier version) Some elements are added in a dark tone.

IMG-(1).jpg

A few steps later, I finish the painting with thin oil glazes. Here some high-res detail

ladySkatesII-1_post.jpg

This is the same technique I used for my self portrait at
https://steemit.com/art/@reinhard-schmid/fly-with-me

. . .

All pictures taken by me from my own artwork. Please stay tuned for more detailed info about my work in the future.

A big thank you to everyone supporting me :-)

Sort:  

Wow, this is some insanely beautiful and unique work! I also kind of want to wear these heels..

Glad you like it. Yeah... should go into production, have gotten a number of requests like this :-) I'll let you know when they are available... what size? ;-)

I am not surprised! Size EU 37, thanks! :D

Can't wait to see a post of you (w)heeling around ;-)

This is really beautiful! I love seeing your process. I have used burnt sienna or umber to do my underpaintings before then gone back with the thin oil glazes but never on red. Its gorgeous - I love how all that warmth comes through. I also really love the flourishes in the shoe and how you achieved such tactility in each surface. Love this :)

Thank you for your kind comment. From all I know, there is no set rule to follow, but for me a lighter color for the ground works best.

I usually do anything from a light ochre with a touch of burnt siena to more reds, as you can see. I gave only a very short version and didn't write about imprimatura and highlights in egg tempera, so it wasn't going to bore everyone.

I'm about to take off to my studio, so I could only have a very brief look at your page so far. Can you comment here with a few links directly to your art?

Great to see you are doing well here so quickly! After a few days the coins will start to move into your wallet!

Hahaha.. thank you Peter, but I think I just got lucky and I don't think I could have managed without the help of you, @leoplaw and so many others. We'll see how it develops...

The wallet stuff is still rather mysterious to me...

That is really beautiful work, seems to be quite a lot of work

I'll follow you and hope to see more of it.

Thank you for your kind words. Yes, my paintings take a long time... and I better get to it. Too many interesting posts around here. Checking yours too.

Thanks a lot for the resteem :-)

Very good painting with a detailed presentation

Thank you for the compliment and for noticing the details!

Wow! So unique and meticulous. Amazing work.

Thank you very much :-)

Looks like you have some interesting posts on your page. I'll take a closer look tomorrow :-)

Thanks @reinhard-shmid! Please do! :D

Really imaginative & beautiful!

Thank you... almost missed your comment. Off to your page :-) Love your haircolor 😍

Extremely unique and realistic and I have to say, I wish I was the owner of a pair like these, amazing :)

Thank you very much for your kind comment. Like I said further down earlier, I should go actually producing these. What size may I reserve for you?

Oh I do like! Especially the details of her perfect toes and toe nails, the tendons on the side of her heel, and the lovely jewels that hang like ripe fruits over her foot. Really stunning!

So glad you like it, as I was really hoping you would see it.

From what I remember, when I saw a photo of you for the first time, I too was quite intrigued by perfect toes and toe nails ;-)

Always looking forward to view your posts!

I love it!!! Very imaginative, I can see a real sense of humor in your work. (And in your writing.) Wonderfully detailed! And it has a beautiful warm sheen to it.

Feel that from your end too... world would be pretty sad without humor... and a few other things of course ;-) Thanks for liking my (w)heelies ;-)

Yes, indeed!
BAHAHA! You're welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59541.64
ETH 2637.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45