"HallelujahMachine" - a surrealistic approach to a renaissance cheerleader

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Drawing/painting in graphite pencil and oil on glass!

After showing some of my older works, I thought, its time for something more current again. When I do one of my Hinterglas pieces, I normally always start with the painting and then build a unique frame for it.

This time it was a little different. I had found this "gothic" looking fragment in an antique store and right away thought, this would make a great frame for one of my paintings.

HallelujahMaschine1-Groß.jpg

It took a while, but eventually I had a decent idea. It followed a general concept that has been an underlying theme of my work for a long time, which I call the venusmachine. The combination of the sensuous female energy with the more technical male aspects, often depicted in some kind of machinery. I'm also fascinated by E.T.A. Hoffmann's novels about automated, mechanical dolls, he thought up some 200 years ago!


First major step is of course to make the drawing, graphite pencil on glass.. reversed, as explained here

DSC_6732-1.jpg


I colored it only in brownish sepia tones, to give it the vintage look I wanted, to go with the frame.

HallelujahMaschine-2_DSC_7185-cor-1.jpg


photo by me of my own artwork. The original is graphite pencil and oil on reverse side of glass, as explained in this post on Hintreglas

Sort:  

🙌🏽🙏🏽❤️

Great work...keep it up

Thanks, I'll try!!

welcome great steemian... find time also to check my blog posts

Thanks for the invitation, I have :-)

oh man. this is stunning! i would proudly and gladly hang this up in my home. amazing idea!

was hoffmann the one who came up with the word automatons for these automated mechanical dolls?

Thanks a lot! Hehe... its available 😉

Yes, that could very well be, that he used that word.

Edit: awesome blog you got there... will have to take a closer look!! Thanks for the resteem!

thanks for the rad art! i look forward to seeing more get posted! i legitimately love this piece.

You are talking about the opera by Jacques Offenbach, The Tales of Hoffmann. Hoffmann's first love is Olympia, an automaton created by the scientist Spalanzani.
The word "Automaton" has been around since ancient times (originating in Hellenistic Greek).

well, hoffman was both an author and a composer. offenbach created the opera based on the writings of hoffman.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/E._T._A._Hoffmann

the word "automaton" has been around since ancient times, yes, but i was asking about its use in reference to the automated dolls, which didn't come about until much later.

wow, that's fuckin' beautiful man.

I need to own that but am very not able.
(money wise)
(don't know how much you are getting, but I assume you are doing better than me)

maybe you will feel the same way about something of mine.
(work wise)

anyway, tremendous work my good fellow.

This is my favourite thing of yours so far.

and I have liked each thing pretty much.

if you don't sell it beforehand, it's mine when it can be

Thank you very much for your passionate compliment! Unfortunately, right now, I don't think I can afford to trade anything.

If you are curious of a pricepoint, my currently available glass paintings can be found at my website under https://www.venusmaschine.com/kaufen/glasbildkaufen/ sorry, in German only...

Hard part might be the shipping. Last one I sent to the US was close to 600,- for fedex alone :-/

Wow, this is amazing on so many levels! You found a frame and added some original content. And not just any content either: super beautiful!

Many thanks! I really appreciate your kind words, particularly since you seem to have a keen eye for art!

Hii I followed u can u plz follow back.

Thanks for following, I always appreciate that (assuming you're doing it for the right reasons). I looked at your profile, and honestly, I don't think the baby turtles and your (uncited) pics on India's independence are sufficiently interesting to make me want to follow you - yet. If you take a good look at my profile and posts, you may get an idea of the things that excite me, and if you publish quality posts of those topics, I'll be happy to read them, comment on them, and eventually follow you. But following for following's sake is something I don't do, nor do I recommend it. It'll clutter up your feed with stuff you don't want to see, making you want to become less engaged in interaction. Believe me, I've gone through that phase myself.

Hii I followed u can u plz follow back.now

Be careful with these type of copy-pasta demands! I know people who would flag you instantly for this.

He doesn't get it! 😂

Hii I followed u can u plz follow back.

Thats awesome man

Thank you! 😎

Follow me I will back now

Follow me I will back now

Please delete these worthless "comments"!If you keep this up, I will not be able to remain friendly!

Nice work =) I like the way you express in your illustration.

Fascinating approach. Slightly Steampunk angle to the image. Beautiful! I'm rather curious as to where this journey will take you next!

You may be right on the steempunkish angle... never thought of it, but now that you said it..

Pretty curious myself ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60380.95
ETH 2623.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55