The Scottish Kelpie

in #art6 years ago (edited)

I Love Gelly Roll Gel Pens

Finished

9 x 12, Mixed Media Paper, Micron Pen, and Sakura Gelly Roll Pens

Kelpie:

The Kelpie is a Scottish creature often associated with the realm of faerie. It also falls into the classification of water horse, although this one is decidedly malevolent. It most commonly appears as a beautiful horse near or in running water, and can be identified by the mane that seems to be constantly dripping wet. Females will sometimes appear as a beautiful woman dressed in green, bent on luring lustful men to their watery doom.

What I learned working with Gel pens, they make a bright shiny picture. They are better at mixing color on color and difficult to draw over once dry. The liquid ink will lift off the dry ink and can make your drawing look muddy.

It's easy to mix colors on the paper. Lay down a nice bright yellow, take a red and a few lines, take the yellow and go over the red and yellow and you will get a very nice orange. Because the gel pen liquid will liquefy the dry layers of ink, it's hard to go back over dry ink. It's easier to do with the smallest size pen tips. The largest size is messy and doesn't lay down a nice even line if you go back over dried ink.

I had a blast working with the pens, and I will be using them again for my line drawings.


WIP And Gel-Pen Critique

Kelpie Ink Drawing


Since 1984 After intense research and development, Sakura was first to market with the invention of gel inks in 1984. Sakura has continued to master gel ink technology offering a variety of colors, opaqueness and special effects. Today, Sakura Gelly Roll® pens come in medium and fine point Classic gel ink, Metallic, sparkly Stardust®, dual color Silver Shadow® and Gold Shadow®, and bright and creamy Moonlight®.


some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

Wow! What a lovely art, you it looks like a horse with some characteristic of dragon. You are a talent, and I really likes you and your work. It's been a while, I'm solving some issues that's why. Thanks for sharing your work of art and my regards to your love.

I hope you issues have been resolved @ohakfarm, the Kelpie reminds me of the Asian Naga, a mythical snake like being that could change it's shape that lived near or in water and there were nice ones and really bad ones...the nice ones protected Buddha during his last mediation before enlightenment.

Almost finished, thanks for being there always. The kelpie horse art of yours looks perfect, and been the first time you tried the gel pens, you still did a fantastic job. I'm happy people started seeing the value and the originality of your work and that makes @hero7 considered it cheap, keep it up ma. Hope to see more of your work with this gel-pens

Very nice my friend. Has the Scottish Kelpie ever been used in a Scottish coat of arms? Again thanks @reddust.

I haven't found the Kelpie on any Scottish Coat of Arms, I found lots of Thistles, Unicorns and Lions though...hahaha

This is stunning. Horses and mermaids? Now that's a gorgeous combination. Kelpies always frightened me - they are quite menacing creatures from memory, but they are very beautiful. Your drawing is absolutely gorgeous! I love the bright colours and you evoke that watery theme well.

Kelpies are the dark side of the fairy world for sure @riverflows....After reading about their way of stalking people I am now afraid to hang out near rivers in the early morning and late at night...hahaha

This is my first try, I will working in improving my technique, I found some amazing looking gel-pen art of the Gelly Roll website...

@reddust, The Scottish Kelpie being so amazing creativity. I prefer to look your impressive finishing work. These sea horse amazing via color combination. Delightful color selecting. I see it's hard work to painting. However your effort didn't wasted. Finally, finishes brilliant art.

I love the colors too @madushanka, we all are born creators, but it takes a lot of practice, my hand is killing me...lolol...I am not used to drawing all day long. Painting is easier on my hands.

Can I ride them?? I want one as my pet! :D

fantastic, you want to sell it ??

Yes I would @hero7, asking price 25.00 sbd, if you are interested message me through Steemit chat...we can exchange information there...

Gosh that is cheap for such a beautiful artwork!!!

hahaha, I never know what to charge for my art...but I have some pieces I won't let go for nothng less than $5,000...this little piece was my first try at gel pens, I will get better and charge more I promise @riverflows.

OMG!!! Really great art..love it... look like 3D art

maybe one day you have to draw a real creature, but this picture in my opinion is full of philosophy, I agree we women sometimes is very deadly poison, so do not ever play with us, ha ha ha

The poison is in the heart of the beholder...no matter how we cover our feminine form the poison will be in the person who is viewing our form and reacting, it is up to the person no matter their gender to clean away the poison...it is persons character not gender, religion or race that defines them💃🏻

really all human beings are commanded by God to do good, cleanse soul and heart, but many people deny God,

Super cool! I didn't know you can make art like that with gel pens 😲😲 @reddust

I didn't know much about the gel-pens, especially their ability to mix and make different colors. I am impressed...

Another most fascinating finished art work @reddust. You've superb skill for created those arts. I'm wondering to see very earlier finish works.

Thank you @dragonking, this was my first piece using gel-pens in over 20 years, I am already planing out more pieces. The gel-pens of today are much easier to use than 20 years ago.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25