Steemit Rewards Bought My Art Supplies!

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Unboxing Arches Aquarelle Watercolor Paper

I bought all my art supplies before this last dip. I usually pay around $18 to $25 dollars for a single sheet of paper. I found Amazon and Overstock had some of my favorite paper on sale $14-16 dollars per sheet for a pack of five. I bought a 5 pack of cold press 640gm-300lb, 22 x 30 inch paper from Overstock because it takes bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies. The shipping was free, I could of saved $10 on Amazon but I think I might have to pay for shipping.


The paper was nicely boxed.

The paper was surrounded by bubble wrapping because shipping can cause dents in the papers surface which will effect the flow of paint.

Coldpress watercolor paper has a rough texture compared to hot press, which has a smooth finish. I like painting action type paintings on cold press paper. The texture lends to sports figures in movement or animals flying or splashing through water.
My paper was also protected with a nice plastic envelop. For storage I seal up my paper so bugs can't get in and eat the paper. I am not kidding! There are moths, cockroaches, silverfish, book lice and their larva that like to eat paper. So all my paper and paintings are protected from parasites.

Overstock Cryptocurrency Help Page

A word of warning when paying with cryptocurrency on Overstock.com, your payment can be rejected by the system or time out and it will take hours, I've read some people days for payments to be returned to your wallet. I found if all my privacy and security walls and plugins are turned off and I use my Coinbase wallet everything goes smoothly...most of the time. Coinbase handles all Overstock BTC payments. The system is clunky and buggy, I have no luck using my personal wallet to transfer funds to Overstock.com. When I use my Coinbase wallet I have no problems paying with BTC. You can pay with other coins and that platform uses Shapshift, I haven't tried using any other coins besides BTC so I don't know how it works....Probably just as buggy and slow.

some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

@reddust,
I tried to read the whole article but stucked here! You are amazing! A beautiful photography of my dear friend!

Cheers~

I thought old ladies had the power to disappear but it looks like I am not old enough to use that power yet. hahaha, thank you my friend @theguruasia.

@reddust,
Who said you are old :O The person who told you is the guy who is old :D

Cheers~

My back says I am old...hahaha so cranky, I have to remember to walk and do my yoga or this old body freezes up like a rusty old car that hasn't had any oil changes in a long long time....hahaha <3

@reddust is very suitable to buy equipment like this,
because you have a very good artist.
I am very interested in all the paintings you have made.

No matter our level of expertise we have the ability to grow on this platform. Thank you @jasonmunapasee.

that's good you now what its my first time that I see who @reddust because your profile photo not clear , You are still young and beautiful

I feel old, I've been through a lot this last 58 years...Thankfully I have good genes...Thank you @askmee

Yes you are lucky because you have good genes , I love you my dear @reddust you are my best friend here on Steemit I wish if I meet you one day , next year I will move with my wife and my son to Spain ;)

Oh my goodness, I love you too @askmee, maybe we can meet at the next Steemfest. Do a search here on steemit and you can find out where the next one will be held, I am saving for plane tickets and lodging expenses for my husband and I, we can meet there!

After the arrival of the equipment and the drawing paper we will be waiting for what you are waiting for your new paintings
In the future, do you think about organizing an exhibition to display your paintings or a gallery in an exhibition?
Um drawing is just a hobby.
You are not 50 years old. Your picture looks like you have a flower age of 40 years at most.

More equipment is coming, I ordered some brushes from a manufacture I haven't used and will post a critique on how good they are...this was a fun post to make! thank you @klasanaj.

Sorry , but your picture did not let me read what you wrote ,,, you really are beautiful ,,, The beauty features in your face have not been erased

The women in my family have good bones, thank you @beforeandafter

How I wish to be from your family to keep my beauty as well lolol

I think you are beautiful just as you are my friend @beforeandafter.

oooh :O thank you so much md. @reddust ... I have organized a competition for the best drawing :p

what a creativity!!!!!!!! lol.......

I have the funds to build my creativity thanks to Steemit!

go ahead. may god bless you

what a great art and you used best thinking in your post... i like your post.. carry on...

I am going to paint Lionel Messi for my next big project. It's a birthday present for my husband who is dutch and crazy about soccer.

300lb paper? That doesn't look like 300 pounds of paper! :-p

I am not sure you would want a full ream of full sized sheets. It would be a daunting pile.

I believe that overstock uses coinbase to offer their crypto front end.
So, of course, it would be much easier to transfer your coins from coinbase to coinbase.

Look forward to see how you destroy... I mean create art on these pieces of paper.

As always, a smart ass :P hahahaha

They have an option to use your personal wallet and it absolutely does not work...That kinda pisses me off and I only use overstock when I want to invest some of my rewards into paying for overhead....

I have very strong drawers to hold my 300lb paper....

Thank you for sharing your experience. I have yet to use my Steem to buy something or turn into a debit card. I would like to know more about how to do these things. I feel Steemit should have more posts or examples like what you provide. Thanks for your valued post.

Ordering from Overstock.com is difficult and I am not the only one that has had problems with technical difficulties. Hopefully as cryptocurrencies become popular user interfaces will be easier to use. Thank you @enjoywithtroy.

Thanks for the info im going to have to check out overstock now ....i wish they carried glass. I cant wait to see what you create

I am not happy with their clunky cryptocurrency payment system so be careful when ordering. I haven't lost any coins but I have had to wait hours for my btc when the system rejected my payment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58805.73
ETH 2642.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45