Seat Of Life

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Symbolism Of The Skull

The location of the head, the dome shape of the skull and its role as a spiritual center have often led to its being compared with the heaven of the human body, the seat of the life force of the body and spirit. By cutting off a corpse's head and preserving the skull as a possession, primitive man attained several goals. First he possessed the closest and most personal memory of the dead person, and then he acquired the person's life force and its use to the benefit of those coming after. The more skulls he could accumulate, the broader the extent of this spiritual underpinning. The more skulls one can take the more spiritual power to win wars, pillage, and power.

An example of the use of heads taken in war, the Cisalpin Guals ambushed and destroyed the army of the Roman ex-consul Postumius, through great fanfare they carried off the leaders head with the rest of the spoils of war. The cured skull of Postumius was encircled with a golden crown and was used as a wine cup in rituals and celebrations. Since the skull is the highest point of the body it is used in ritual to transfer spiritual energy to the priest and keepers of the temple.

16 x 14 inches, pen and ink, on 190lb cotton watercolor paper

Today I added the background color and starting the shading to give depth. I think I will add a hint of color to the tree and leaves.

The Tree Of Life

The Bodhi-tree under which the Buddha found enlightenment. In early Buddhist iconography the tree represents Buddha. An inscription at Angkor states that its roots are the Brahma, its trunk Shiva and its branches Vishnu. This is a classic description of the world axis. The cosmic tree, used to obtain the drink of immortality in the churning of the sea of milk. Which is shown at Angkor with Vishnu at its foot, upon its trunk and at its top. There are many variations of this theme throughout the Buddhist temple systems.

The Tree in Buddhist Myth

Queen Maya, Buddha's mother was heavily pregnant with the bodhisattva Gotama Buddha as she traveled through Lumbini Park in the land we now call Nepal at the foot of the Himalayan mountains. She had taken rest in the shade of the sala tree. As she rested contractions started and she grabbed the branch of the sala tree to give her strength and the baby Buddha to be was born under the sala tree. It was an auspicious day. The birth took place on a full moon (which is now celebrated as Vesak, the festival of the triple event of Buddha's birth, enlightenment and death), in the year 623 B.C.

Sala Tree

Head Hunting

Art Prints

some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

This one will be interesting!

Yeah, I will be adding more pen and ink once I finish the coloring! Thank you @alktoni.

This was very interesting. The sketch you have drawn perfectly complements your post. It looks as if the tree's roots and branches are sprouting from the skull as if to show that enlightenment always begins in the mind which is true too. Lovely work!

There is a tree that has grown around Buddha's head! From what I've seen when I looked inside my head there is no in or out regarding the mind, it has no edges or center either! And when I think about it, I see the world through limited senses and thick covers of conditioning. Even as a child I wondered what the world would look like without using my eyes to see. I think I instinctively knew I wasn't seeing things as they truly are.

serveimage.jpg

I really love how you add all this information and history to the painting it is awesome ! My god it would really suck to become a wine glass in the afterlife, waking up and realizing someone is sipping wine from your head that would suck !

Jokes aside I really think this art piece is interesting and looking forward to see how it develops ! I am saving my voting power so I send you a tip! 0.5

Sorry, the tip is higher then your deposit.
You can check your balance by sending 0.001 SBD to @tipu with memo: balance
(the minimal tip is 0.1 SBD)

Thank you @dandesigns86, I have had problems responding and upvoting my comments. I have more stories regarding the skull used in rituals.

Yea the same here... Hope to find a solution soon for this problem

That's the war of friends

There is always an internal struggle going on within us! Thank you @sulaimankumbang.

tip! 0.5

wow this is now coming along very nicely
really amazing work :)

the details are really awesome :)

it was great to know about many things thanks to you @reddust :)

@reddust,
Actually I have no idea what is the symbol behind this skull, and in Buddhism there are no symbol with it! Anyway I could see Bodhi Leaves in this artwork! Bodhi tree is the sacred tree of Buddhists.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jaya_Sri_Maha_Bodhi

Great artwork is making day by day! Looking for the final outcome of this work!

Cheers~

Thank you @theguruasia, There are skulls and bones used in Vajrayana Buddhism. Thank you for the link I will check it out!

http://www.khandro.net/ritual_skull.htm

accomplished, follow up

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65702.61
ETH 3485.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51