Let's Dance Under The Harvest Moon ~ Art By Red Dust

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Cornucopia

I am continuing my season themed art. It is October, harvest time, big yellow moons, and Halloween! For my culture this time of the year the dead can walk with the living, remembering our ancestors, and thankfulness for this years harvest. Fall leads to the deadly cold of winter for the people of the North and we must plan carefully for winter or we will end up being remembered by the living and walking with the dead. Now our old holidays have been commercialized and all Halloween represents is a Hallmark Holiday.

I don't think I've done a drawing or painting of skeletons dancing. I've done a few anatomy drawings and enjoyed the bare bones of humans. I have drawn Tibetan skeleton iconographic art, I've always love skeletons. I think our bones are beautiful. Skeleton and skulls have many symbolic meanings throughout time and cultures. For me the skeleton represents our fear of death and inability to look beyond the fleshy surface of material reality.

Our love goes beyond our bones and moon of this world where there is no such thing as things.

14 x 11, watercolor, gouache, pen, and ink, 190lb cotton watercolor paper

Cornucopia

The History of Halloween

Harvest Moon By Neil Young

Played by Phil Lesh and Friends in 2013 at Terrapin Crossroads.

Come a little bit closer Hear what I have to say Just like children sleeping We could dream this night away

But there's a full moon rising Let's go dancing in the light We know where the music's playing Let's go out and feel the night

Because I'm still in love with you I want to see you dance again Because I'm still in love with you On this harvest moon

When we were strangers I watched you from afar When we were lovers I loved you with all my heart

But now it's getting late And the moon is climbing high I want to celebrate See it shining in your eye

Because I'm still in love with you I want to see you dance again Because I'm still in love with you On this harvest moon

Date - 1992/Album Harvest Moon/Recorded By Neil Young

Steemit Bot Swarm

Art Prints

some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

This drawing drove me to dance on my favorite numbers.

Do a video of your favorite music and dance to it, I'll do one too! I can't dance, I have no rhythm lololol

lovely post @reddust wonderful drawing and lovely music video
thanks for sharing

Thank you, the music takes me back to my youth, funny how music can transport one through time.

Lovely :) Party time for the living dead!

For the living and the dead we dance by the light of the harvest moon...I was taught if I do not fear ghosts, demons, and zombies can't hurt me and if my heart is pure those will ill intent cannot see me....

Metta and the practice called chod...Dancing without fear! lololol

http://www.bodhicitta.net/Chod.htm

They're so (don't know how to say it correctly in English) - full of energy in dancing!:) Would sound like incendiary in russian, not sure that in English the meaning is the same lol:)
Halloween is one of my favorite parties, can't wait fr it:)

I love the fall and our old traditions. I will be thinking of you and your happy face when I look at our harvest moon here in Oklahoma.

Fall also is my favorite season:)

Dear Ma, i started finding the truth in Metta as you told me few days back, wish i could get a hardcopy to read on as my eyes are very weak as a result of hours of Research on New Zealand- Your friend couldn't take it anymore here in this Country as my business is moving nowhere- And Steemit is paying me lil this days, the way out is what am searching for now.

I never thought Steemit would pay my bills so my focus has been to improve my art and my skills showing my art and writing about it...metta is wise loving kindness and the best books I've read are through Theravada Buddhism. My first practice was with SN Goenka's writings, however there are no free books on his site. Buddhanet is a great site to explore all the different vehicles for the mind.
www.buddhanet.net/pdf_file/scrn_metta.pdf
Four Types of Persons to develop loving-kindness towards:

• a respected, beloved person - such as a spiritual teacher;
• a dearly beloved - which could be a close family member or friend;
• a neutral person - somebody you know, but have no special feelings towards, e.g.: a person who serves you in a shop;
• a hostile person - someone you are currently having difficulty with.

http://www.buddhanet.net/metta_in.htm

thanks for this ma'am....

You are welcome, my vipassana teacher always said, "Be Happy" I always thought I shouldn't become happy but actually be happiness itself, no me or mine... Hugs to my friend in Africa!

Hugging you back ma'am!

I learned metta meditation after I practiced vipassana all day and the end we did metta meditation. So practicing metta is best done when the mind is calm and centered.

I've always loved that Neil Young song and as soon as I saw your title I started humming it to myself and then after looking at your awesome skeletons, I saw you posted the song too!! Ps. the inside of the cornucopia is my fav part, especially in the drawn version.

My childhood best friends brothers loved Neil Young. We would sit around in the living room reading Lord of The Rings together listening to Neil Young, Crosby, Stills, and Nash along with Crazy Horse. I went to one of their concerts back in the 70s....crazy show and lots of energy. Thank you, I love the ink drawings, I may just save a few ink drawings as is, thanks for reminding me @natureofbeing.

Neil Young is pretty extraordinary for sure (as are your drawings ;-) and I'm in support of the black and white sometimes) I saw him at a small show in 1992 and was so moved by his grounded, full creative presence. I still listen occasionally and have been going through a kick of Crosby, Stills Nash and Young So Far.

Oh so cool. Great work.
I was just researching the "Danse Macabre" for one of my projects. The dance of the dead. It really reminds me of your drawing.

In medieval times they would get people from all walks of life to do a dance through the streets dressed up in bone outfits.

It was to show the fragility of life and also unite realizing we are all on the same path. Regardless of social status or creed, we all go the same place. It's the one thing that all humans have in common.

It's morbid and beautiful at the same time. Kind of like your awesome painting. Great work. Thank you.

I've heard of the Danse Macabre, I want to experience this someday, but not as a ghost 👻

Haha, yea not as a ghost.

I got to see a danse macabre re-enactment at the Renaissance festival.
It was so cool and weird so I looked into what it was all about.
They were playing old, scary music with flutes. Really interesting to see.

I just watched one of your videos, I want to adopt you...I will visit your blog to bring a smile to my face.

Hahahahaah yes. Ok, lets sign the papers. I have not been adopted by any Steemian yet, so I'm free. haha.

But truly, thank you. That inspires me to keep working on my videos. I appreciate it.

THE DANCE WAS INDEED FUN ;)
and nice music video

Thank you @rehan12, enjoy the moon <3

professionnel art like always, you got my upvote, you deserve it!!

Thank you so much @jawadovic!

you are spreading love with your art :D

i hope so @cutiepie, the world really needs some kindness and good boundaries lololol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95