Hobbit Time

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Dutch Dinner

My Husband is a native of the Netherlands and I found when visiting his family the Dutch are tall hobbits. They eat 11 times a day and they are not fat! The secret to the tall hobbits health is their food is without a lot of chemicals we have here in America and they eat small portions. Plus everyone walks or rides bikes because their cities and towns are so small.

An example of the Dutch people's eating habits, dinner is served 5:30pm, dinner includes dessert, some kind of vla, which is a sweet custard that comes in assorted flavors. Around 8pm everyone has tea and a cookie, then around 9pm cheese and meat platter with chips and alcoholic beverage or cola. I won't go into breakfast and lunch right now, I don't have time! Basically the Dutch eat non stop all day long!

14 x 11 inches, 190lbs Hot Press Cotton, pen&Ink, and Watercolor 2017

After taking a week long break from my art I have to make an offering to the guardian of the creativity gate. Please Let me in kind and goodhearted gods of creativity!

Mallow Tea

Art Prints

some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

Basically the Dutch eat non stop all day long!

Oh what a wonderful place to be, lol.

The title with the word Hobbit drew me write in. :)

Now I know why I like you so much, you are a Tolkien fan like me <3

Haha, we stick together!

Sounds a lot like my relatives in Denmark... most days revolve around food, and meals often take a couple of hours. Or more.

Nice illustration, too!

@denmarkguy, my husband thinks we eat too fast here in America and we don't eat together as a family often enough. I would agree, when I was growing up everyone sat down for dinner to a home cooked meal. But that doesn't happen here in America anymore, we are all too busy working or running the kids to school functions. Our restaurants push us out like an industrial assembly line as well.

So I try and get my family to sit down every evening around food, eat, laugh, and share their day.

Thank you!

i like the dutch long habbit on eat, daily life.

this is really great! Good job! Is that watercolor for the table?

a place that eats all day sounds like a place that I want to be...

@allstarrunner, yes I used watercolor for the color in this painting, hot press 190lb cotton paper. The Dutch people are awesome, I could live easily in the Netherlands, everyone speaks English!

My parents currently reside in Malaysia, and while not everyone speaks English it is the national language (for business) and so enough people speak it that you can get by without much trouble. Makes visiting there much easier!

The Malaysian people are very kind from what I know, I grew to know many when helping organize Buddhist teachings when we lived in Chicago. I want to visit someday and see all the old Buddhist temples!

Yeah, they are very nice; my parents live in Penang and that is where I would suggest you go; a small island but a great place to visit. Then you can go north to Thailand which is also phenominal! However, they don't speak english nearly as well unless you are in tourist heavy places.

That is so interesting to learn! Yum. I swear people from that part of the world have incredible digestion!

I was kinda jealous the Dutch could eat yummy food all day and not get fat...I just look at cookies and gain 5lbs!

Hello Reddust! Beautiful drawing! I love black and white artworks. Also I find your description of tall hobbits very interesting and heartwarming! ;) I would love to find out more about how the Netherlands is in real life as I've never visited it before, and it's my dream to go there someday. Following you! :)

Thank you @shinyforest, Europe is amazing, I've been to a few other countries as well, my favorite place to visit are the churches, they have the most amazing art, it takes my breath away!

U r awesome drawing

Thank you @zahidsun, I love to work with pen and ink.

I like ur tillent

My talent loves compliments, it is kinda vain...hahaha (hugs)

@reddust, I wish I could be a tall hobbit who could eat anything and not get fat.

I am working on eating less chemical packed foods and have plans to increase my physical activity. It is a tough journey over the holidays!

@sumatranate, I chemical proofed my kitchen and cook with and drink purified water. My weight has stabilized but I have to eat lightly or my digestive system gets bogged down. I think that has something to do with getting old...hehehe

Walk and bike more so you can eat cookies!

nice drawing, creative art design, nice design

Hello @reddust I have been away on a project for a while but it is nice to see you still on here and going strong.

@iamwne, I figured you were away on some kind of digital work, I hope it was a lucrative gig! Yeah, I am still plugging away...hehe <3 Glad you are back.

It was a weird project but the check cleared so I don't care... lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62934.82
ETH 3119.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86