A Small Church Somewhere In Bulgaria ~ Art by Red Dust

in #art7 years ago (edited)

In Darkness One Light Can Be As Bright As The Sun

I was wandering through the Internet and found a black and white photograph I thought was beautiful. I was working on pencil drawings at the time and thought the photo would make a great drawing. I lost the photograph but not my drawing! If anyone has gotten lost in the woods, I'm sure they know the anxiety of feeling lost. This drawing represents faith. Not just Christians can cultivate faith, if I think about it, all people have faith in something greater than their feet of clay.

I am a Buddhist and much of my practices revolves around faith. Although experiences are important for verification, I know I won't reach enlightenment in this lifetime, this is where faith comes into play. I've tasted the fruit of bliss in meditation, I don't have blind faith based on someone else's words. I have faith in the Dharma teachings, the Buddha, and the Sangha. Instead of focusing on our differences we can focus on our faith we hold in common, which all valid religions speak of, faith in wise compassion, wisdom, and wise loving kindness

I didn't know: From the 9th century the official religion in the Bulgarian Empire is the orthodox Christianity. Before that the religion of the Bulgarians was monotheistic and very similar to the Zoroastrianism. As a matter of fact, the prophet Zoroaster was born and died in the capital city of Bactria: Balh. D-r Dorian Alexandrov believes the so-called Eagle of Asparukh, which depicts a stuggle between an eagle and a snake is also connected with the proto-Bulgarian dualistic view of the world. The eagle is part of the Voznesenka Golden Treasure. Academic Jordan Ivanov finds similarities between the pre-islamic persian religion, and Bogomilism. The medieval Bulgarian writer Prezviter Kozma, in his “lecture against the Bogomils”, describes in details their dualistic practites, and their blend with the new Christian religion. The historian Plamen Pavlov accepts the riot of a leader called Traval (1084-1086), chief of the Bulgarian Paulician community was a result of the pre-Christian Bulgar believes. The name of the God in the Bulgarian religion is called Tangra, according to Veselin Beshevliev. In his view Tangra means “sky”, and he connects the word with the term Tien(sky). In central Asia there is mountain peak with the similar name: Khan Tengri, in the mountain TianShan. Peter Dobrev derives the word from the Pamirian “Tandra” which is the god of thunder in certain Pamiri tribes

some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

The trees are amazing @reddust
I am often lost...or going the wrong way before I head in the wrong direction. It's just the way it is. I don't fight it any more and rather go with the flow. Now I just schedule "get lost" time and not so stressed out anymore. LOL

I literally have no sense of direction, I've learned to plan and prepare, cause on my way to my destination I know I'm going to make a wrong turn somewhere. However, some of my best adventures and meeting cooky, weird, incredibly kind and helpful people have been found when I'm lost and look for help...I have issues asking for help. Thank you for stopping by, I know how busy you are😉🦋

Wow...nice to see your drawing to my eyes...great work.upvoted
221.jpg

Thank you @bibek, practice makes perfect😉

YOu welcome...exactly...have a nice day my dear frined....@reddust:)

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jun 16. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $19.30 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 16 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I'm not very popular🤑 Thank you @screenname😂

Excellent drawing @reddust! I love the figure standing by the house! It makes me wonder whats going on inside!! :)

You saw the soul of my drawing, thank you @tonyr🙏

Wonderful, the sparse nature of this drawing, as opposed to creating a chill, invites the eye too look deeper and find more. I can almost hear the leaves under my boots and smell winter in the air. This was very pleasurable for me to study and your article was a complimentary joy to read. Thank you so much for sharing! I hope your day is nothing short of wonderful!:-)

You caught what I was aiming for, the austerity and cold of a barren heart can be the handmaiden that guides one home!

Wonderful! Really love it, definitely spoke too me :-)

Excellent post dear friend @reddust, congratulations on your beautiful work, thank you very much for this beautiful gift
have a good weekend

Thank you dear friend @jlufer❤️

I too am a strong believer of buddhist teachings!
Great art work :)

Thank you @aishwarya, the Dharma helped me save my own life. I have strong faith in the Buddha, Dharma, and the Sangha.

That it's absolutely beautiful red!🌹

Beautiful, evocative drawing. I absolutely love it.

Thank you @whistlejacket, I love churches, especially really old ones in Europe.

Wandering aimlessly towards warmth through the crooked and dark branches springs to mind when I think about my own faith and trek through this life. You sure do know how to evoke beautiful imagery with both your art and words @reddust. I also really enjoyed the Bulgarian history lesson. Ah, I enjoyed it all, thank you for sharing! 😊

Thank you @generikat, walking through our darkest moments, lost in the woods of our ignorance with courage, compassion, and wisdom leads us into the most amazing bliss, life changing awareness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55049.50
ETH 2307.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30