Psychedelic Lizard (WIP)

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Viviparous lizards (Lacerta vivipara)

This morning I worked on the overall color scheme for the Lizard and I am happy with what turned up. I will be adding layers of colored pencil to give shadow, highlights and depth and outline with pen and ink after I am finished fleshing out the scales.

Unfortunately I won't be able to work on this piece all day. I have volunteered to help out at Scotfest this year. We have a meeting today to work on when the bands will play so as not to interrupt other musical events. When and where events take place so everything will flow without getting in each others way.

Scotfest Tulsa Oklahoma

I added salt to the mix, it's a method to give a molted look to the paint. I didn't like the method last time I tried it and I still don't. But what the heck, the background and foreground are interesting but not my favorite look. Usually artist don't mix mediums, I find it a fun challenge to see what comes out when I mix things up.

18 x 12 inches, 190lb watercolor paper, pen, and ink.

I was browsing through my home stream here on Steemit a week ago and saw this amazing photograph catching the details of lizard scales. I went into bliss, yeah I am weird that way, I love details, especially if they have to do with patterns. I love drawing details, I leave time and everyday thoughts and just draw, like I am the pen and paper.

Ocrdu's Blog

Have Some Fun This Weekend Steemians!

Concept and Drawing

Figuring Out Colors

some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

Buen post, muy interesante

Saludos desde Ecuador :)

So beautiful and i like look you finished this picture, great job.....

Thank you @alol, I thought I was going to be able to finish this piece today. I forgot that I have volunteer work, thank goodness for my calendar or I would of forgotten!

Yups..... You're one of the best in steemit in terms of drawing.

fantastic art work @reddust, where is the lizard's fourth leg can't able to see it.

It is hidden in the photo as well...!

great feeds. nice painting

you are like a professional painter. The lizard inside your painting is like a mosaic. I really like the effect of your coloring technique

You are so kind! I've been practicing all my life, maybe someday I will be a professional <3

hopefully your dream becomes real, your hard work that has never been in vain. God is all-hearing.
I also have a dream that is almost the same as you, but I just studied it for a while

Woow, Perfect use of colors and method.

It's definitly a daring one, kind of psychedelic. And I love it! :)

Yeah, I kind of stepped out of my comfort zone!

@reddust,
I know this is not an easy task and yeah we got real life works too! Therefore, no hurry, just take your time and bring us an amazing artwork at the end!

Cheers~

Thank you @theguruasia, I have a hard time getting into the work and a hard time pulling out....pffft, I guess that's why the first four letters in painting spell pain :p

1ca56b75ffca9ba2dfc2c103eb8a4675--train-illustration-henry-darger.jpg

Unbelievable hehe as always i say ! :D lizards are creepy arent they ? :P btw i posted beautiful suit for ladies and bride you can say :D you would love the design and colour :D other girl also liked it hehe :D

i will stay tuned to see the final outcome of this artwork of yours so great it is looking

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58607.22
ETH 2616.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43