Art and Creativity: The Importance of Dedication and Perseverance

in #art7 years ago

When you're an artist or work in a creative field, it's pretty much a given that the creative process doesn't move in a nice smooth straight line.

In fact, creative expression is usually a pretty bumpy road-- or, as some of the artists who come into the Red Dragonfly often say: "It's feast or famine."

Sticking to It

It can be tempting to simply take a break when we're not feeling creative. If we're painting, to just step away and do something else for a few weeks, till the elusive muse returns.

Blossom
"Apple Blossom"

However, if you're serious about developing your art, that's really not a recommended course of action.

The problem with taking breaks from pretty much any creative field is that what we're doing is a practice. And when we stop practicing, we start to get a little rusty and awkward when we resume work. 

The longest "break" I have taken in the past ten years has been about two months... and to be perfectly honest, it took me longer than that to get back into the groove. 

Which got me to thinking that perhaps we need to look at "creativity" almost like we look at muscles-- if you don't use it, you lose it. Or, at least, if you don't do at least a little something every day you start getting "out of shape."

Dedicating Yourself to a Practice

If you're more than a hobbyist, it's quite a commitment to dedicate yourself to your art (or music, or writing, or singing) every single day.

Blossom
"Calla Lily"

Of course, in an ideal world "we love what we're doing" to such a degree that it never feels like work. But that's in an ideal world-- and most of us don't actually occupy such a world.

As a writer, there are plenty of days on which I don't feel like writing... but I still make a point of doing at least something, every day. Even on those days where I just can't find a "flow" at all, I still sit down and do some editing work-- that way, even if I am not writing anything new, I am at least in a creative "head space" for part of the day.

Today, I didn't feel like painting at all... so I have been doing "finish work" part of the day-- signing, even a little paperwork. But at least I will be able to close out the day with the thought "I worked on something creative today!"

Avoiding Negative Self-Talk

One of the important things I have learned along the way is to avoid negative self-talk when I am in a non-creative period.

Blossom
"Hibiscus"

From talking to the many artists we see, I came to realize that almost all of us suffer from occasional creative slumps. And that doesn't make us bad people, or "inferior artists" or "bad writers." And so there's no reason to sit around and listen to voices in our heads trying to persuade us that we're "not good enough" just because we're not churning out masterpieces on a clockwork scale. 

Fact is, nobody does. So cut yourself a break!

And don't listen to "helpful" friends who use phrases like "if you took this more seriously, you would ___." They have never been in your shoes, and even if they ARE creatives, themselves, chances are they have their own unique approaches to artistic creation.

Success Is a Long Term Affair

With a very tiny number of exceptions, "success" is an ongoing process-- a "practice," much like creativity itself. 

Thistle
"Thistle"

Sure, there are people who enjoy "sudden" success, but then what? You don't just stop, you keep going. Being a successful artist or musician isn't a one-time thing, it's practically a life. It's a long-term affair, and so it becomes yet another area in which dedication and perseverance matter.

"Good" and "bad" may be able to stand alone in a very limited way, but here's the thing: Creating one really rotten painting doesn't make you a "failure" as an artist, any more than creating one masterpiece makes you a "success." These ups and downs all become part of your overall body of work... and you just have to keep going, regardless.

Patience can be a struggle, sometimes. We want things to happen "now," and that means it can be difficult and frustrating to work through those "creative doldrums" I mentioned at the beginning. But we need to. Because then we arrive at that day where we spend days and weeks turning out one great thing after another.

And that makes it all worthwhile!

Thank you for reading! Red Dragonfly is a proud member of the @sndbox creative initiative.

The Red Dragonfly is an independent alternative art gallery located in Port Townsend, WA; showcasing edgy and unique contemporary art & handmade crafts by local and worldwide artists. All images are our own, unless otherwise credited. Where applicable, artist images used with permission.   

Sort:  

This kind of words and understanding can only come from a person with many miles under artist fingers like yourself...Any comment here will be to much :) Enjoyed reading as always @reddragonfly.

Thank you! But seriously, you are quite an accomplished artist, yourself; I think you know quite well the artist's path.

Yes, but sometimes I stumble ...But that is also part of the path..I call it my ''yellow brick road'':)

Nice metaphor!

Wise words and useful info, timely too.

Have you read the War of Art? Author Steven Pressfield writes:

“We're facing dragons too. Fire-breathing griffins of the soul, whom we must outfight and outwit to reach the treasure of our self-in-potential and to release the maiden who is God's plan and destiny for ourselves and the answer to why we were put on this planet.”

In other words, and like you said, success is an ongoing process. It demands we turn up and practice our craft each day even if the results are good, bad or unlike we imagined.

Loved the bit about avoiding negative self talk. I heard from somewhere, i forgot where. Worrying about something you can't change is a waste. And worrying about something you can change is also a waste because you would rather spend your time changing it. Ohh, I remember, I think it was from one of the Kung Fu series with David Carradine. An old TV series.

Negative self-talk can be a tricky one alright. It can creep up on you when you least expect it!

I'm a female alien artist from the cosmos who has just joined steemit. I create digital work using 3d software and other programmes, i just wrote an intro, appreciate support and welcome from the community. check the intro here
I also created the electronic music and the visuals for this video
I need work, if anyone wants to commission me to do, videos, music, graphics, logo….anything please get in touch!!!!!
krystaleyegifsmall.gif

I can also do installation, exhibitions, vj and dj. I'm a multi-dimensional alien! my location is the cosmos, im available everywhere!

Thank you for your comment-- I will check out your page.

Absolutely beautiful shots I loooove black&white pictures and flowers are my favorite objects 😉
I love your writing and way of words. So true about patience can be a struggle I know that feeling very well and we want results now and all happening at once.
Thank you for sharing and have a wonderful weekend. Cheers!

You are completely right. And, I needed this article of yours, thank you. It motivated me to keep up the work, for it's my "mother and baby period"for the second time, that makes it hard to make a continuum. But this time, I have more motivation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58397.49
ETH 2619.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42