Starting the Year With #SculptJanuary19

in #art5 years ago (edited)

Hi, everyone. I'm back and with enthusiasm. I've prepared myself for the Sculpt January 2019 and I've been having a great start on it. You're probably wondering, what Sculpt January is. Sculpt January is a challenge held by Zacharias Reinhardt's Weekly CG Challenge for artists to sculpt 31 sculptures based on the pre-determined topics for each day in January. 

Here's my day 1, the topic is, Beast: Deep Sea. I was going to create a Kraken or something like that, but I scraped the sculpture halfway through completion, just because. Then I decided to create something based on something I love so much, the Little Sister from BioShock. Now, I know she's not exactly a "beast", but hey, someone even made Spongebob, so.  ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

#SculptJanuary19 Day 1 | Beast: Deep Sea


I hope I can get better at sculpting anatomy and proportions sooner than I expected by joining this event. And I hope to see some drastic improvement of my 3D skill when I compare them by the end of the month. For that, I'll do my very best to create the 31 sculptures.

The best part of this event is that you don't have to use digital software to join because traditional sculpting is allowed. For me, I use Blender 2.8. Another best part is that not only this event will serve as a great way to improve your skills, but you'll also have the chance to win some cool prizes, if you managed to create all 31 sculptures. 


Credit: Weekly CG Challenge

This is the Sculpt January 2019 calendar with the determined topics each day. If you're interested in joining in, the rules and everything you need to know can be found here: Sculpt January 2019.
Thanks for stopping by, I hope you have a great year, Steemian!

 



Click the icons below to join some of the best Steemit community on Discord where you can meet and hang out with awesome fellow gamers and artists, and help each other grow.

      


©2018 Adam Rainite Lawsone

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Though I don't play the game, I heard about the little sister from Bioshock. Your sculpting of her is very cute, I like that her body becomes more transparent as it goes lower. And the glowing eyes are very nice :D.
                     
Good luck with the SculptJanuary, I'm glad that it will hopefully make you post more often ^_^.

The Little Sisters are some lovable little nightmares lol. I'm glad you like it, because the lighting is the most difficult part for this one. I failed to make the scene look more creepy.

Thank you, scrawly, I hope there'll be no trouble so I can keep posting ^^.

This post has been upvoted by @opgaming. We like what you're posting, and we want to reward our members who produce quality content. Keep up the good work!If this sounds like the sort of group you want to be a part of, click the image below! We're too OP to be put down!

OPG_2.png

Congrats to you for taking on the challenge. Have a productive January :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks, @dalz! I hope you have a good and productive January as well!

Wow ! This is amazing, @rainite! I look forward to you January's awesomeness !!!

And DEEP SEA looks so gorgeous with this ghosty little girl from Bioshock <3 Amazing ambiance !

Thank you spodey! It's actually not the kind of ambience I wanted by I'm glad you like it anyway ^^

Hello @rainite, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97