Tired and Sad at Humanity Today.

in #art5 years ago

Hellmouth tw.jpg

Last night I heard about the news in New Zealand - the terror attack on two mosques. I feel compelled to write something about love winning, but I have so much anger against the people who hate SO much that they'll kill. Like the incels, and the white supremacists. It almost seems ironic to push love for fellow man when I am so not in love with my fellow man. I'm frankly, a little sick of my fellow man.

I grew up in a very religious household. It was unhealthy. At times it was abusive. I tried asking questions, from time to time, to make this whole 'God' thing make sense, and the only answers I ever received from my father were 'because God said so', and 'Because I said so'. If I ever was a believer, if was brief. My father used his religion as justification of his deep Islamophobia, his homophobia, his misogyny, his racism. We don't speak anymore. I don't have the ability to deal with all of his hatred. It makes me hate him, and then I feel almost hypocritical in a way.

I've met so many people who have the opposite mentality, with religion. They use it as a platform for love. The fundamental rules of all faiths are very similar, as I've seen. Be nice. Get along. Don't hurt other people. Don't steal. Help when you can. And so on. They had to develop that way, because religion was the foundation of law in society. Without ground rules, people stop working together, and the whole thing falls apart, leaving you vulnerable to nature.

So, what I'm trying to say is that I'm not fundamentally anti-religion. I think some people abuse it, and those people are the ones we see on TV. I'm truly heart-sick that somebody, or somebodies used other peoples' faith as an excuse to murder them last night.

I don't know if my thoughts are coming out in a cogent way right now. I feel like I have 50 people cradled in the bags under my eyes this morning.

Be good, humans. Be good to each other. Take time to talk to an astronaut, and see what they have to say about this rock from above. It's one unit.

[email protected] for purchase inquiries and commissions.
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/RachelSVParry/
Twitter - https://twitter.com/RachelSVParry
Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/rachelsvparry/

Sort:  

Well articulated Rachel. I would add a quote to support your post.

The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today is Christians who acknowledge Jesus with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable. -Brennan Manning

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks @giddyupngo. I hadn't seen that quote before. :)

Beautiful painting Rachel and sad indeed :( I think it's important as artists to express both the beauty and sadness, I included this post in my weekly curation Ocean of Art

This post has been resteemed from MSP3K courtesy of @juliakponsford from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Hi @rachelsvparry, I agree with you 100%, and I've upvoted this post 100%.
I am a believer in GOD, a central creator, but NO religion accurately
Encapsulates that essence, but they all have echoes of the origin.
In fact, I think I will resteem this post as well. My #originalcontent
Posts are almost always about brotherhood, and love each other
And equality.

Thanks @jerrytsuseer. I think all belief structures are tools for us. All tools can be used to do great things, or terrible things. I'm glad to see people use them for good.

Also, very nice to make your acquaintance. :)

And I you my new friend.
(I've tried twice to upvote this comment, but for some reason I had to log in to Busy three times to get it to stick)
image.png

I would send you a Friend request in FB, but your profile doesn't allow it.
Here's me:
https://www.facebook.com/jerry.e.smith1

Congratulations @rachelsvparry! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 750 posts. Your next target is to reach 800 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87