The Green Crab Project. New Show at my gallery in Toronto.

in #artlast month

IMG_0534.jpg

Hello my friends!

I have some catch-up to do again. I fell ill during the latter half of my previous show with Fee Gunn and fell off the habit of posting again. It was probably covid, and I probably got it from the super-spreader vendor market we had here, but it's getting harder to keep track of these things. Still no joke, though. I'm only 37, and I was completely tapped of energy. Felt like death. I'm barely recovered now.

But hey. I'm alive! And I just sold one of my own pieces today! (Not pictured here. I'll share it separately in a post tomorrow.)

Fee Gunn, whose show I need to catch up some posts on, fortunately has a couple of pieces in this show we've just opened - The Green Crab Project, with our sponsor at Deporated Seafood. Even more fortunately, he sold one at the opening reception. Fabulous news for everyone involved!

The Green Crab Project is the newest venture of Deporated Seafood. They've invested time and resources into finding a way to process this diminutive yet ravenous coastal menace into something delicious for human consumption.

I should probably have started with the fact that the European Green Crab is an invasive species to Canada, as well as the rest of North America, consuming unchecked with no natural predators along our coastlines. It has proliferated to such an extent that it is endangering native species of all kinds. This crab is small, only growing to about the size of a loonie or twonie, making it not worth the cost of processing to most in the food industry here.

However, using the depuration technology that Deporated Seafood has developed, they've found a way to utilize this crab en masse, and they want you to come try it.

Apparently (I, personally, have been vegetarian for nearly 20 years, and am unable to give you a firsthand account of the flavour) this crab more than makes up for its size in flavour. Although it is small, the meat inside is packed with a distinct taste. You'll have to come try it for yourself, if you're in Toronto or willing to travel, they'll be giving out samples this weekend during one of the mall's frequent vendors' markets. Come by and try some! And check out my little gallery while you're here.

Uh. I'm still a little bit scatterbrained. Moreso than usual. Apologies if this post is disjointed or redundant.

Recovery is slow slow slow!!

As always, if you like what we do, and you want to support us but can't buy artwork, you are more than welcome to tip. Usually I share tips equally between myself and the resident artist, but since this time we actually have five artists, it'll be split a little bit further. Every tiny little bit helps. :)
https://ko-fi.com/rachelsvparry

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63212.56
ETH 3233.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88