Should You Meet Your Heroes?

in #art6 years ago

HOZIER name edit.jpg

This photo is something I edited together from my friend's page. On the left, we have the amazing and lovely Ash, who owns and runs the George Street Diner in downtown Toronto. She's had a bunch of my work up on her walls for about a year and a half. She's one of the kindest, most caring, and funniest people I have ever met. She also makes delicious food. She's just the best. I love this woman.

On the right... is an artist I've been listening to on repeat for a couple weeks already, since his release of four songs from his new album, Nina Cried Power. I fell in love with his work from the first hit release, quite a while back, Take me to Church. It is of course, Hozier. My favourite four songs are Work Song, Angels of Small Death and Codeine Dreams, Shrike, and Moment's Silence (Common Tongue). I love them all, though.

I wasn't there to see him, but I have it on good authority (Ash's) that he liked my work. That means a lot to me, since one, he is an artist whose work and taste I deeply respect, and two, he is an artist whose own mother is a painter, so he is someone intimately familiar with visual art.

I would have loved to meet him. They say you should never meet your heroes, but I disagree. I think, if anything, you should humanize them. If they're terrible people, you should be able to decide how you feel about that. If they're wonderful people, you should still be there to recognize that they're as human as you are, and to that, recognize that you are just as capable to be great as they (whether or not your paycheque reflects that! Lol).

I'm flying high right now on this little tiny win in life.

[email protected] for purchase inquiries and commissions.
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/RachelSVParry/
Twitter - https://twitter.com/RachelSVParry
Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/rachelsvparry/

Sort:  

I had no idea he was, like, 9 feet tall.

LOL! I didn't either! But in all fairness, she's pretty tiny. Everyone looks giant next to her. :D

Your post was manually selected by @edje and rewarded by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with the support of Curie. About IINC: here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63501.83
ETH 2650.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81