You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: That's REALLY Cool! But I Just Don't Think Anyone Will PAY That For It!

in #art7 years ago

I think I almost shed a tear of gratitude for this. As a contemporary, mostly surrealist artist, the disparity of verbal to financial support is staggering.

I even had one person once compliment my work, STEAL a piece, then try to give me job hunting advice without me having asked for any. Needless to say, we are no longer friends.

Resteemed, and followed.

Sort:  

Thanks for the kind words @rachelsvparry!

And "ouch," that hurts. Reminds me of the guy who was in the gallery, very complimentary of my art, and then described me (to his young daughter) as "very skilled at highway robbery, as well."

We have enough small pieces at our gallery to need to worry about theft... and I find it stunning that people like art well enough to want to risk stealing it, but not well enough to pay for it.

Double ouch! Not only rude, but he's also publicly teaching his child disdain towards artists... That hurts!

We have to have thick skins in this business, don't we? Sigh.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60265.23
ETH 2324.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55