New Painting! "Always Glad You Came"

in #art5 years ago

Always Glad you Came.jpg

I couldn't contain myself and already posted it to Twitter, @ Jemaine Clement, Taika Waititi, Natasia Demetriou, and Matt Berry, so you guys are not the first to see. Sorry!! I was too excited. I realize that it's quite unlikely any of them will see it, let alone react, let alone hopefully favourably. I'm excited none the less. In case I haven't made clear in previous postings, I'm REALLY into comedy.

The gimp on the far right is my partner, Mikey. You wouldn't recognize him in real life. His time spent on What We Do in the Shadows is, I think, the only time he's ever been a gimp. Maybe he has a past he hasn't told me about! Who knows? He says no.

Anyway, I've been a fan of Jemaine Clement since Flight of the Conchords, Taika Waititi since What We Do in the Shadows the movie, Matt Berry since Mighty Boosh - and OMG, he's so different in WWDITS than any of the characters I remember from Boosh. Natasia Demetriou, I'm only just seeing for the first time in this series, but she's incredible. Love love love. I'll have to look up some more of her work.

Ted Danson I've enjoyed very much in The Good Place. There are many excellent shows available now.

The actual inspiration of this piece is, of course, from Mikey's day on set. I'm the one who always helps him rehearse his sides for auditions and booked roles. I get to see all the dialogue whether or not it makes it to air. There was a scene that didn't make it to air which would help make this scene make much more sense, but since it does not to 99.9% of Earth's population, you'll just have to enjoy it for the oddity it is.

Here's a close up of Jemaine's face next to a quarter for scale.

Glad you Came Jemaine detail.jpg

Ahh, I'm so happy with how it turned out. I'm thinking I might do a series of miniatures simply recreating very memorable scenes from media that have helped inspire who I've become - A naked clown pouring coffee on Kids in the Hall, David Cross writing increasingly threatening letters at a desk opposite Bob Odenkirk, in spite of never mailing them - the monster with eyes in his hands from Pan's Labyrinth. So many little things that just stuck.

I have this idea for an interactive art show including same. You'd walk in through a giant human ear, through fibers like cilia, into a room covered in these tiny little recreations of media, and books suspended between floor and ceiling by fleshy sinews. I'd be there, dressed as my own homunculus, setting off electric currents and studying you like an alien. It's a work in progress.

Anyways, off I go. I spent the last two days supporting our careers by painting a cafe with really high ceilings. I had to climb a ladder with a 12-ft extender with an edging brush taped to the end to get the high corners, and now my arms feel like lead. Thighs, too. Much squatting to get the low walls. But yay, rent. The things I do for my landlords. Must be love.

[email protected] for purchase inquiries and commissions.
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/RachelSVParry/
Twitter - https://twitter.com/RachelSVParry
Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/rachelsvparry/

Sort:  

Your post has been featured on @artzone

Courtesy of @nmalove

Lol this is awesome. I would love to see a 'miniatures' series about those influential scenes! That child eating Pan's Labyrinth demon is definitely one which stuck with me too.

It shall be done! It's amazing what sticks with us, eh? That was a powerful image, I'm sure it's a common memory. :D

Hi rachelsvparry,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Wow! What a nice haha, it looks very funny, a classic vintage style

This painting is spectacular!!. I congratulate you. Also, your good mood is great. The new ideas seem very good to me. Possibly, if you think about it, it is also a good idea that in your new paintings you introduce details that one should find. For example, an emblematic boat in one of the boxes in the background. Or a placement coin next to the glasses. Maybe you can use my ideas. Great greeting @rachelsvparry

Your imagination is wild...
In between ears eh? hahaha
I can see why you were so excited
It looks really good :D

By the way, congratulations on the Curie vote :)

Thank you so much! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63001.43
ETH 3365.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45