I Really Underestimated.

in #art6 years ago

Kris Pigs 1.10.jpg

I was sure I would have this done by yesterday, but I forgot about all the little folds in the little clothes in the little Guinea pigs. Half of them are a bit more detailed now, so I'm inching ever-closer to this piece being finished.

I'm officially going to start another project this weekend - even though I said I should finish this first. I need to work on something new, or I'll go nuts.

There's a larger piece I want to make of Parkdale in Toronto, with a massive rabbit made of vegetables smashing the infrastructure. This part of the city has been gentrifying quickly the past couple years, filling up with vegan restaurants. Normally, I'm happy when more options for people with specific diets arise. Unfortunately, it comes with inflated prices because it's trendy. With that, rents have been skyrocketing. That alone isn't enough for me to take umbrage with the vegan surge in Parkdale. There's been proselytizing papering all around that people should become vegan, in a place where the majority of people who already live here cannot afford to do so.

Then the counter-papering began. People fighting with slumlords in this part of the city flew into a rage, that a group of sanctimonious people had been postering their diet-religion, promoting (even if unwittingly) gentrification where so many people are being forced out of their homes.

The counter-papering enraged the vegans, so they responded with a list of reasons why the vegan cause is more important than any other. They included that housing rights were not as important AND THEN THEY PUT UP POSTERS OUTSIDE A SOUP KITCHEN.

That's where I draw the line. That's why veggie bunny will be smashing housing in a painting, starting this weekend.

And then I have this other idea... The Basilist. A reptile, or amphibian master of pesto. It doesn't need as large a canvas.

[email protected] for purchase inquiries and commissions.
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/RachelSVParry/
Twitter - https://twitter.com/RachelSVParry
Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/rachelsvparry/

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.18
ETH 2610.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83