Finished Work!! Gift Commission of the year.

in #art6 years ago

Reut's Dog tw.jpg

It's ready! Or at least, I'm going to stop picking away at it! Annually, I offer one "free" commission, wherein I only ask for the recipient to share their piece and link their friends to my pages... and if they are able to do so, to give me a gift card for art supplies in whatever dollar amount they feel comfortable to give. That part is less important.

This year, I stipulated that I would be selecting the recipient based on merit, asking them to submit their recent good deeds.

I didn't have too many people apply, but of those who did, the winner is a young person who volunteers their time with holocaust survivors. This deed spoke to me firstly because I have some jewish relatives. Secondly, because I used to volunteer in a nursing home, and I know how lonely it can be for some elderly people. Especially, I imagine, for people who were subjected to the countless horrors of those camps.

I might be meeting up with the winner tonight or tomorrow. They wanted this to be a surprise, so I really hope they like it. :)

Oh, and there's not many progress shots, but here's about how it came together:

Reut's dog 1.jpg

Reut's Dog 1.1.jpg

[email protected] for purchase inquiries and commissions.
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/RachelSVParry/
Twitter - https://twitter.com/RachelSVParry
Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/rachelsvparry/

Sort:  

Hi rachelsvparry,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

congratulations to the winner. the painting is a beauty. I like the hair lines it seems real, the face of the dog is like a sir I loved it... bravo for the guy. he gonna love it too

Thank you very much! They did love it. I'm really happy!

Confused a little, was the first picture of a brown dog the initial color or is this a separate portrait? It just jumped from simple dog picture to a dog of fine culture and both images look really nice.

Thank you, @adamada! It's the same painting, just in different phases. I work in many layers, so the difference between the first stages and the final product can sometimes be drastically different. In this case, I darkened the fur quite a lot to make the highlights pop out. That, and lighting during photography make the biggest difference in tone.

As for the fine culture, I try to keep my work fun and whimsical unless my clients specifically request natural portraiture. :)

Hehhehe what an adorable painting. I like that this serious and glasses doggo is drinking a Loyalty branded soda XD.
                   
Merry Christmas to you and congrats for your curie vote ^_^.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Love this, Rachel :) I hope the recipient will be a decent person who will also love it because it is a wonderful piece <3 <3 <3 What a dapper, hipster doggo fellow ! Enjoying his coke! I wonder if it is DIET coke... :D

Congrats for curie, as well :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61814.34
ETH 2979.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48