FINISHED PAINTING. OMG I THOUGHT THIS DAY WOULD NEVER COME.

in #art6 years ago

Yo Ho Ho tw.jpg

Finally. It feels amazing. Sure, there are little details I'll keep picking at until I send it out to its new home, but for all intents and purposes, it's done.

It would have been done ages ago but for the other projects on my work list. I've had a canvas prepped and images ready to start a new project for a while, but I kept putting it off for other deadlines and priorities. My discipline isn't quite advanced enough to poke away at work in the spare hour or two here or there or there in between other tasks, so it's been slow going, with only a day here or there to actually do large amounts of painting.

That might be my life for a couple months to come, what with the Fringe really starting to heat up. I have to finish collating the sketches for the actors to start rehearsing very soon. We put our name in on Monday. I've been working on this dead body prop a little bit at a time. That I CAN do in between tasks. The separate parts will soon be ready to attach. Then a couple more layers of paper mache, then I can start painting it. Then I add things like fingernails and eyelashes, and then finally, wax, and a wig. And clothes.

Enough about that for now. This finished piece is of 13 guinea pigs that a fellow alumnus from my hometown highschool has cared for over the years. She saw the portraits I had painted of my mum's dogs, and she commissioned this of her own fur babies. She hasn't seen it yet. Perhaps, doesn't know that I've started and finished it. I hope she'll like it.

I think I've met a couple of these piggies, but way back when in highschool. Hard to believe how long ago that was.

Here are the many progress shots so you can see all together how it developed.

Kris Pigs.jpg

Kris Pigs 1.jpg

Kris Pigs 1.1.jpg

Kris Pigs 1.2.jpg

Kris Pigs 1.3.jpg

Kris Pigs 1.4.jpg

Kris Pigs 1.5.jpg

Kris Pigs 1.6.jpg

Kris Pigs 1.7.jpg

Kris Pigs 1.8.jpg

Kris Pigs 1.9.jpg

Kris Pigs 1.10.jpg

Kris Pigs 1.11.jpg

Kris Pigs 1.12.jpg

[email protected] for purchase inquiries and commissions.
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/RachelSVParry/
Twitter - https://twitter.com/RachelSVParry
Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/rachelsvparry/

Sort:  

Wow. Simply superb. Starting with the background of the boat and deck and like how you layered in the heads of the guinea pigs first. I don't have the patience for this and I can only imagine the time and effort that has gone into this. We have 2 artists in our family and know the hours that is spent on this. I can imagine everything is backing up until you get this finished.

Thank you so much! Yes, layering certainly is time-consuming. Everyone has their own order, as I'm sure both your kin do. I don't always put the background down first, but I find it super helpful to create the scene from the back forward.

And yes, absolutely there are other projects that have been waiting quite a while to be seen to for this. :)

Oh! What a cool surprise for your friend. You've painted them so well. To me it appeared like a deck of pirate pigs who are drunk, hustling and having fun 😀

Thank you for sharing this wonderful piece of art and keep creating.

Thank you so much! I like to think fun is the most important job for a guinea pig pirate, so really, they're just hard at work. :D

I will always do my best, thanks @himalayannomad!

This is the cutest painting I have ever seen! I love how each of the guinea pigs have their own personality and it's so amazing to see them as pirates! The peg-leg one and the one swinging in the back crack me up.

I know your friend will love it. She cannot possibly be expecting this!

Thank you so much! Yes, I think in many ways, my own background as a performer helped in this composition. We're always told to have a task - create the scene, do something within the environment. I didn't want any of the little piggies to be without a job. They'd all have jobs if they were real pirates anyhow! ;D

She was so happy! Totally surprised! It took four consecutive messages from her to convey her happiness. I'm happy as a result!

I hope she doesn't have Steemit then :) It wouldn't be pleasant for her that other people saw it before her :) Congratulations on finishing this piece! It sounds like you are a busy bee..

They are all adorable and I especially like those 3 friends in the middle. They are so close to each other. The one climbing up the rope is the brave one! I would think that he would be their leader :)

I'm sure your friend will be happy to see this painting :)

Thank you for sharing and congratulations on your curie vote!

Lol! I don't think she does, but even if she did, I have to make sure it's got the Steem seal of approval. ;)

Thank you so much! If only it were the brave of us humans who chose to be leaders, eh? We might make some better sense of this crazy planet! :D


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

I love how you posted the progression of your creation. Beautiful.

Thank you very much, @onepagex. :)

Hi rachelsvparry,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

First of all, let me say congrats for finishing this great piece and second, thank you for presenting the step by step process. That's very helpful for many artists and not only. This is how we all learn and I wish more people would post the phases more often.
I love the composition, it's funny and beautiful as well. These guinea pigs are so cute. Nice job, have a great weekend!

Thank you, @erikah! I appreciate that. Likewise, I feel that the input of other people sometimes ends up making my work better overall. :D

Thank you so much again, and have a lovely weekend yourself! :)

My pleasure, I'm always happy to see great artwork posted on Steemit. keep it up! :)

Wooaw.... Lovely Guinea Pigs in there. Your painting looks fantastic. Actually, the painting got me more than 5 minutes, just to stare the beauty of the work.
Great work, infact your writings was splendid too.
I really enjoyed reading your blog

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you, @ferrate! I really appreciate that! <3 :)

You are humbly welcome

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63792.82
ETH 2563.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66