Original sketch: Girl and tiger (Steemarket Art Contest)

in #art7 years ago

I'm working on creating some artwork for SAC, or the Steemarket Art Contest by @paolobeneforti.

(It's a really cool initiative; check it out!)

I largely work with digital art work, so going for the "painting" category really puts me out of my comfort zone. I wanted to create something whimsical and break back into my watercolor pencils (which I haven't touched in... a year?).

At any rate, I forgot to take process photos, but I'm proud of the sketch I'm going to be basing my artwork on. Thought I'd share!

Tiger and girl.jpg

After watching Okja yesterday (if you haven't seen it, definitely check it out. It's on Netflix, 85% on Rotten Tomatoes), I was definitely in the mood for something about a girl and her creature.

Originally I was going to draw a cat, but I wanted something a little more epic.

I stumbled upon Kevin Richardson, and after scrolling through a bunch of his pictures, I got this idea.

(This is the one that really caused the light bulb moment for whatever reason. My brain went "mm tasty" and then made a bunch of connections from there.)

I did this sketch in Pixlr, and am about to go out to get a stylus because I'm sick of drawing on a tablet with my fingers. Now to figure out how to transfer it to paper...

Suggestions?

All content is original.

Please follow me at @RachelBurger, upvote, and resteem to let me know you liked this post!

Sort:  

Congratulations @rachelburger! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57497.94
ETH 3099.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32