Digital Art: Fan art for Munimuni, a local indie folk band

in #art6 years ago

Munimuni.jpg


Untitled-4.png

I made a fan art for the indie local band here in the Philippines, Munimuni or Daydream in english. I discovered the band last two months while surfing on youtube. The feels, the emotions, and the vision of their music really got my attention. I immediately checked them out and I messaged them on their facebook page to say hi. I'm already addicted with their music. It gives me more creative ideas when I'm looking for some ideas on my stories that I'm currently working on. Let me introduce to you guys, Munimuni.

The name Munimuni itself came up after a random jeepney ride where TJ realized that the word “muni-muni,” which means “reflecting,” “daydreaming,” or “meditating” in English, captured the very essence of their music. Munimuni has been making headway in the local indie music scene over the past year. The band—comprised of Aj Jiao on guitar and vocals, Owen Castro on flute and vocals, TJ De Ocampo on guitar, and Red Calayan on percussion—performs songs that feature ethereal, folksy soundscapes with the relatability and innovativeness of their OPM forefathers.

Sources: 1 2

where-to-baguio-munimuni-ep-tour-1.jpg
source

I completely adore the band. On their interviews they always use the word makata-pop genre or Poetic pop in English and I fully agree! They're reviving the poetic side of every filipino. Nowadays, people are now tuned on newer genres such as hiphop, dubstep, edm, and etc. I don't hate those type of songs and actually I like some of it. But the fact that it has a small bit of your being a filipino, it really touches my heart. This is my most favorite song on their EP, Sa Hindi Pag-alala.

This one is my all time favorite, Sa Hindi Pag-alala. For me the song is all about saying your hardest goodbye. Actually, this is the song I gained inspiration for my film Kontra that's all about a guy with an extraordinary power but in the end he became the villain of his origin. It hits me on the heart. The song gives you the idea on what are the usual scenarios on a heartbreak. My second favorite is Sayo.

The feeling that you want to let go somebody but you can't because of love? Haha Well, that's the emotions that I get everytime I listen to this song. Sayo means For You. So, the song it's like serenading with a beautiful poetry. Another reason why I really love them because of their poetic side. It's completely local and homemade. I really love supporting local independent artist here in my country. It's just like going back on the 90s. (i wish i go back haha)

Conclusion

This is not a paid exposure for the band or something. I want to share their music to this beautiful community and to my fellow Filipinos. Also, a reminder to support our own local goodies. This guys really need exposure on the music industry. This is just an opinion. I noticed nowadays that teenagers are now exposed on explicit or some adult music. I know. I know that's normal because they are still growing. But is it that really a preferred role model for the kids? Songs about butts, making women as objects, worshiping fame, and swearing to a random person.

maxresdefault.jpg

My point is that teenagers should not adapt on songs that are explicit. I know some of them are just expressing on their own way but some of their fans approach it on a wrong way. This is just my opinion. Instead, I want to share this band as one of my inspiration and examples of a great music that can touch everyones heart.

The Process

1.png

2.png

3.png

4.png

5.png

Thank you for reading my review/fan art/love of music and art. Actually, I'm thinking of making a fan art of my favorite bands and share some of my views on their music. All I stated above are all opinion and I don't completely hate other genres. It's just that we do have our own tastes in music and that's it. Please spread the love everyone and if you have some time please check out this band. I love you all and have a nice day :)

Check out this awesome bloggers!

@ishanvirtue
@zoeroces
@embity
@roldamn
@mermaidvampire
@jacinta.sevilla
@noellesevilla
@felixsteemit
@struggstudent
@kennik
@christinegegare

Support the movement of this awesome leaders!

@mitneb
@slothicorn
@artguildph
@anomadsoul
@surpassinggoogle
@davemccoy
@mudcat36
@steemph.davao


DQmU6EHRF2Pj2uHqT9hQtTHPVgmyBWgKoNeoPGWNB7Zo7Pj.png

27711351_2279148115436078_476321232_o.png

Sort:  

Greetings, qyugmo

Glad you made this picture of this band. I found it very cool when someone possesses their ability to express the feelings they have for some band through art. I do not have that gift. I admire anyone who has it.
I heard the music that you like the most and this part in particular, caught my attention:
The shape of your eyes as you laugh
The way you dress
And how do you take a short nap?
Here it goes
Here it goes
Is it really goodbye?
If we do not see each other again
Make it so that
The hands of God pulls us
For one encounter
For one look

That reminds me of that 90s song:
The lady in red is dancing with me, cheek to cheek
There's nobody here, it's just you and me
It's where I want to be
But I hardly know this beauty by my side
I'll never forget the way you look tonight

I really liked her !!!

Thank you very much for the exhibition. Good evening!

Also, greetings to you! :) THank you for reading my friend! :)

Hi @qyugmo. Your art is really cool! Thanks for introducing me to some new music. I think it’s great learning about other cultures and music. I also agree, sometimes it is just nice to listen to music without the explicit language.

Thank you for that @beeyou! I do appreciate it. I hope your having a nice day :)

Someone whispered in my ear that you did a great job promoting this post. Well done!

Hi @danielsaori, Qyugmo did a good job writing about his interest, and @davemccoy is the one with a keen eye for talent. My part in it all was to say a few words. Happy they listened. 🙂

so let's send a well done to @davemccoy as well for his talented eye. ;)

I think Curie is really important for this platform. For new great content creators, it can give an amazing confidence boost, it can easily be the difference between failure and the push needed to keep working hard.

I wholeheartedly agree @danielsaori. Curie gave their upvotes to close to 12+ so individuals we’ve come across with our community, many of them receiving their support more than once. Their support is for all users that have a passion for writing or arts. Too bad I don’t have any of those skill set! Hehe, plus our team acct is excluded but doesn’t mean I don’t support what they do. That is why they have my witness vote, what little SP it may be.

I hope we can grow the @newbieresteemday account to be able to do the same one day.

Hey @qyugmo... its nice to see such amazing work again by you... I really like it! I am sending it to a few people and hopefully you get this discovered! Great job my friend!

Thank you @davemccoy! I really appreciate it man, everything that you do especially to the community. I hope your having a good day my friend. :)

I'm happy that you got some attention, you do some great work Q... I hope you are having a great day too and I'm thrilled to see you included by @danielsaori! :)

sorry, wrong account... @friendsofgondor is me too :P

Lol! haha. 2 accounts?

actually 5... sometimes my mind hurts switching back and forth! ;)

Lol! hahaha. So means, you are RICH? Hahaha.

Do you have a bot?

I think more like stupid... lol

I don't have a bot, but I am working on a membership service... right now it is in the testing phase but hopefully in the future it can be live!

What about membership service?
#newbieresteemday?

I am proud member of #newbieresteemday :D Hahaha

It was an amazing post be @qyugmo and again amazing work by you to extend your helping hand.

I'm glad you selected this post @danielsaori! Q is a good guy and did a great job on this one for sure :)

sorry, wrong account... @friendsofgondor is me too :P

The word munimini whatever it means!! Ohh!! Meditation, means in Indian language the, "cute girl child". Best Hindi songs are written incorporating this word.
We take music a way of communicating to God. Everything flows with music and even borders can't stop it. Music stops the noisy world and rejuvenate the body energy. The art of music provides the way of life. Music is in discriminatory, universal and shades every thing under its agies. Thee notes of music make the brain to communiwith heart, makes the feelings with holestic command.
Everyone must supplicate oneself to a band of classical music once in life time and feel the power of notes and magnitizing words.
Love the music and revere the musicians, it is the only art that communicates with every human sole in world.

More than help to talent you are showing to the world, musical bands maybe not commercial but end of excellent quality.. It´s an excellent way to do tribute from an artist to another! thanks a lot

Wow I love the way you brought us this band it show case their talents and abilities. I really like their sound even though Im South African. We should all promote our local music as it is part of who we are. Great art work. You guys will make a great combo.

Yes, please do! Support our local artists! :)

Matsalam my brother! :)

Impressive work! I love the fan art of the Munimuni band.

@davemccoy pointed your post out and suggested it for my Comment Challenge. I liked the idea a featured your post.
Please see the link here.

sorry, wrong account... @friendsofgondor is me too :P

Hahaha! You always surprise me my friend @davemccoy. Again, thanks a lot :)

going to resteem it right now ;)

Hi @qyugmo, I'm just blown away with your incredible fan art.
I don't speak philippine but the music sounds really well, i see why you like them some much at least in that aspect.
the way you talk about them also shows how you feel about their music.
pretty good job.

Bai, nice work bai, never tried vector art on AI basin mag try ko. Congrats ! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60191.28
ETH 3302.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36