Paint the Night!

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Has anyone ever seen Disneyland’s “Paint the Night” parade?


It’s absolutely incredible, but it’s no wonder they need to paint the night considering how much light pollution Disneyland gives off. I, however, live in a blissfully secluded area with no pollution, so I can see the night sky very clearly with little to no light pollution. And it was to my delight yesterday when I got to literally sit down and “paint the night.”   

There’s nothing like a relaxing art session after work to relax me. Even better is an art class, so there’s no wondering about what to draw/paint or worrying over the first stroke of the pencil/paintbrush.    

After an incredibly stressful day at work, my co-worker and I clocked out and headed to our art class together. As we entered the room, the entire atmosphere changed immediately. The hard work day evaporated from my mind as the smell of paint rushed in to greet me. Everyone smiled and greeted us as I sat next to my partner-in-crime who always attends art classes with me.    

The project for the night?  

Painting a galaxy.    

The amount of stars and the multiple colors we used made it look just like a photoshopped picture off of the internet- but with paint! 

I should have taken pictures of the step-by-step process, but at the time I wasn’t planning on writing a post about it, unfortunately. 

Instead of a typical paintbrush, we used natural sponges wrung in water and paint to get the texture of the blue background. This proved to be very… untidy, as we later found out. Being a room full of mostly young women, we decided to go all out with the paint since we were already very messy. 

After getting a base of blue and black, we were instructed to dab some pink, purple, and/or white to give it depth and that galaxy, multi-colored, celestial-feel.  

Now for the most fun part for me, personally. We took our wide brushes and lightly coated them with very watered-down white paint. In short, gentle bursts, we blew on the back of the brushes to spray stars everywhere on the canvas! I also had some fun with my paintbrush doing little comets streaking across the sky. 

Wanting to be slightly different from the rest of the class, I dipped my paintbrush in red paint as well to sprinkle in some red stars- cuz why not? I quickly tested it on some clean paper, and after confirming with the rest of the class that it looked like blood spray, I tried it on my painting. 

…This failed. 

Not only was the paint being more difficult by not leaving my brush, when I attempted to flick it onto the canvas instead, it flicked with too much vigor. Red paint splattered in globs on the bottom left corner. Luckily, most of the paint was already drying, so I just dabbed my forearm at the wet, red paint and it schmeared off. 

The final step was to add the trees on the bottom. We weren’t really taught how to do them, it was left up to us to give it our own unique touch. Some of the ladies even drew trees all around the perimeter of the canvas to give it the appearance of looking up at the stars! 

Very fun night with my girls, and it’s always rewarding to bring home a new painting!   

Shout-out to @dreemsteem, @freedomtowrite, and @bluefinstudios for encouraging me to write a new post!  


Sort:  

This is an awesome post Quirky!

I love that splatter technique when painting.

You painting, ....
wow!

I can feel the cool night air, as you look through the pines at the milky way!
This summer, look up at the night sky, for the Perseids, between Mid July and end of August. They peak at 12-13th August. Remember Perseus? Son of Poseidon.
My daughter and I were at the beach last summer, heads in the sand, at midnight, staring up at the sky, watching the Perseid Meteor showers (named for poseidon's son). This shot is from that night.

Milky Way Shooter.jpg

this is my favorite photo of yours @bluefinstudios. close second is my glass dolphin! :) but this one is incredible!!! i was actually thinking of it when I saw @quirky.countess' post! great minds think alike!

What an awesome picture!! A beach is one of the best places to take pictures of the sky, second only to the desert, I think! Especially during sunset <3

I made an entire post for you, and no comment, week plus, later...
Sad Face!

gasp you wrote a post for me? I'm sooo sorry! Was I tagged? I think I read all of the ones from the past week- which post was it??

How did I miss this??!!
Since it's past payout I hope you'll accept a tip! 0.5
@tipu
...is that even how that works?

This is so pretty - I love it :) It needs a place on a wall where everyone can see it :)

I may just do that! Or I might be the weird- hem hem I mean quirky- person I am and just put it in a box ;D
Joking- that's sacrilege to every artist!

I love that you wrote another post! That painting is beautiful!! The bit about the red paint made me smile. Thanks for tagging me! Just in case, this is what Dreem meant... <center>yourpictureurlhere</center>

Hope that helps! ❤

It definitely helps, thank you so much! And thanks for checking out my blog!

thank you for that - i remembered today how to add that code hehehehehe

Haha you're welcome!

the tags for the center code...

when you edit - go into Markdown - (not the editor that looks like Word) and put center and /center with <> around both of those tags...

with the image in the middle :)

hard to show you because the markdown wants to CENTER my words hehehehe

i'll help you!

but in the meantime..... nice job posting again! what a great painting that is! i really love how it looks like the night sky - hope you enjoy being .....

Aw thank you @dreemsteem! For the help and the dreemie! <3

Of course, my sweet friend <3

the outcome of your painting is magnificent!

oh my goodness i wanted to do more tags, but i thought you had to click enter instead of space after each tag, so the story ended up posting... oh well, i'm going to bed, night everybody! ;)

you can still edit it @quirky.countess :)

when you come back, edit this post, and you can ADD more tags.
The only thing you cannot change, is the first tag and the title.
But all you need, is to add a tag or two!

and you can tag artzone too :)

Awesome post! I really love your painting. You are right it can be so messy, but it really seems like you both embraced the messiness of it. I remember going to art class and coming back with my clothes and shoes ruined, but I didn't care. I felt like I had accomplished something that could last a lifetime.

I love the way you look at it! Clothes can be replaced but something like a painting could never be remade the exact same way!

Exactly! ;)

Sorry I didn't see this in time to properly upvote. It sounds like you had a great time, and I love the painting.

Ooh this painting is absolutely gorgeous.
I loved reading about how heading into your art class just melted away the stresses of the day - I'm exactly the same when I play with paint :)

Love that you're a rebel with that red paint- it doesn't matter that it didn't work, just that you were brave enough to try it ;) Looking forward to seeing more or your beautiful work soon. E xx

Aw thank you! Yep, art is definitely my escape from stress. Even as a kid I found my best work was always drawn on my math paper ;D

Hahaha! Brilliant... yes, I seem to remember a french exam that was mostly drawings and very little french!

Congratulations @quirky.countess! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31